interview with KVAEN

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, I play in two other bands and I have also played in a few bands in the past. However, this is nothing I would like to talk about in this interview since it’s all about KVAEN.
How is it that you started playing music? I was introduced to rock n roll in a very early stage in my life, I started playing guitar seriously by the age of 15/16. Before that, I enjoyed playing chords but got serious once my dad bought my first real guitar.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? J. Natas - Everything
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes. But it sounded like shit. Mostly ripped off riff from my favorite bands hehe
Where are you from? Kvenland
What year did the band form? 2017
What's your style of genre? Black Metal with influences of 80’s NWOBHM, old folk music, thrash and a hint of OLD REAL (MELODIC) DEATH METAL.
What inspires you? Nature, Death, Forests.. That kind of stuff.
How often and where do you reherse? In my home studio from time to time. I have musicians with me which I will not name right now.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Well, I have music education from College and such. And throughout the years my ears have developed and so has also my style of playing. I think I have my own style nowadays.. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I have my full time job, My fiancé and our dog(german shepherd) 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, we are. I think they are great as long as you get along and they don’t rip you off.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Same answer as above.
What made you decide to make this music? It’s been my dream since I was 14 to form this band, I was not just ready and not really mature enough to understand the actual music and the actual sacrifice to make it into KVAEN. The song “BESTIAL WINTER” is actually the first name of the band before I decided to go with the current band name KVAEN.
What are your songs about? Old norse mythology, death-worship, winter, wolves, things that can not be explained etc. Too much to mention what inspires me, really. I’m really impulsive.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do, J. Natas.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Depends. Sometimes a good chorus or a verse comes out in lyrical form but mostly, music first – lyrics later.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Yes. For sure. I hate writing when I don’t feel like it’s the right envoirment. 
Have you done any covers live? Nope. But we will play some classics.
What language do you sing in? Swedish and English.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Well, we have not played live yet so.. 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? I would guess between 18 – 40-50 year olds..?
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? The same. I only have one album written.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? No.
Where have you played live this year? We have two shows planned in Ireland and a few local shows coming soon. 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Ireland, Finland, Sweden.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? When the album is out – prepare for cool merch! Limited shirts for now!
Where can people buy your merchandise? https://www.facebook.com/OFFICIALKVAEN/ß I will update there when we have merch.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
Pretty shit. But the artist don’t really make money of the record sales. However, it keeps the business alive. You make money off touring and selling merch. 
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The industry is going up again I think. It used to be really bad but now it’s going up. A lot of people still buy records.
What do you think of my work? Great, keep it up! 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? People love reading about artists because we are so secret, hehehe.
Do you have any role models or idols? Too many to even mention ha ha ha!
Why do you think that they exist? Because they had the same ambition and goals as we do – To fucking conquer the world and watch it burn!
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
OLDER! – they were more real (in my opinion)
Some bands today are still cool though… The old ones that are still active will say. ; - ) 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Don’t let anyone get to you and tell you that you’re shit. Spit them in the face and keep rocking! DO WHAT YOU FEEL IS RIGHT AND FUCK THE REST!
How do you get psyched for a gig? A beer and warm up with my guitar! Perhaps some old metal in my speakers.
Do you have any new material? A NEW DEBUT ALBUM CALLED “HYMN TO KVENLAND!”
How can people reach you? Through the official FB and my email [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? To conquer the world and play as much as possible!
Do you have something to add?
Thanks for this interview and thank you so much for showing your interest!
Kvenland will rise again, my friends! F.T.W.!

Kommentera här: