interview with SEYMINHOL

Have any of you played in other bands? Absolutely, our drummer and our bassist play a kind of trash metal inside the band called “Deficiency”. As for me, this manner to open my mind is over. Now, I prefer work on Seyminhol and its career. It’s really my aim and my passion.  

How is it that you started playing music? My first contact with the universe of the band, it was during the year 1991. I must say that I’m not a musician, but I have always liked the atmosphere of the music group. This idea to realize an album was inside my head since my youth. I loved Scorpions, Queen and Europe when I was a boy. But strangely, inside my family, there are no musicians and artists. 

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Kévin. I’m the singer of the band. I have 42 years old. Nico play guitars and keyboards, he has 39 years old. Tom is the drummer, 36 years old. Vianney play bass guitar, it’s a young guy: 24 years old or 25. I think…

Have you had other previous members? Yes, of course. A lot of musicians have played with Seyminhol. It’s linked to the long story of the band. I’m the sole original member of the crew. I make music with Seyminhol since 1991. A very long time…

Where are you from? We come from France. East of France exactly, near the city of Metz. 

What's your style of genre? Now we play a kind of melodic, atmospheric and progressive metal with a touch of symphony. But our influences are very large. Seyminhol it’s a mixture of heavy/rock, hard-rock, power metal, black metal and, maybe, gothic rock and pop music. 

What inspires you?

At the beginning of the band, it was history and, particularly, the Scandinavian history. We played Viking Metal and we used the sounds of the Nature to embody our music. We used traditional instruments as bagpipe and cello to create imagery and a sensitive canvas of our thinking.  Now, to create the concept of our last albums, I have used the

book of Shakespeare, “Hamlet”. The literary, the arts, the paint, the philosophy and, of course, the traditions and folklores are the best inspiration for us. 

How often and where do you rehearse? It’s very rare, because we don’t have the time to have some frequent rehearsals. Nico has a “home studio” inside the French campaign. It’s “the place to be” when you wish make music or to have a good gig with all the members. Generally, I work with Nico. The others guys prefer play at home. 

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Of course, I work inside a museum and I’m a historian. I’m writing a book on the amphitheater games and the roman coins. Nico is a teacher. He likes handicraft and all the forms of creation. 

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Now, I think it’s difficult to make a show. It’s a time of crisis for the music industry and all is money. But, we have some contacts and some friends inside the “business factory”. 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? It’s a good solution to present the band outside France, in a foreign country. I think the label management is a manner to have some opportunities. Now, we have chosen to sign with an international group. I hope it was a good choice. 

What made you decide to make this music? I think two albums have been a trigger for us: “Images and world” by Dream Theatre and “Symphony of the enchanted lands” by Rhapsody. It was fresh, very melodic and really new. After a period of studies, Nico and I we have chosen to transform Seyminhol to a symphonic band. 

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Nico make music and I write all the texts. I work about a concept and I imagine all the choirs and all the vocals melodies. I imagine the atmospheres and the narrations too. It’s a long process of reflexing and a philosophical attitude.  

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? The concept and the lyrics are the groundwork of the music.  

Do you compose in a certain environment? I don’t know for Nico, but when I write a song the place is not important. I think the inspiration is everywhere: streets, forest, car, train, etc. 

Have you done any covers live? Yes, during “the Viking years” and “the Power metal years” we played “Final Countdown” of Europe, “Heart of steel” of Manowar,  “Jump” of Van Halen and “Seventh son of a seventh son” of Iron Maiden. Now, we are working on a title of Ghost and Metallica.  

What language do you sing in? English, but some titles are  in French. When we realized a concept on the North we used the Norse language on few titles to give a special atmosphere.  

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? The music is for all. We can observe that any person likes our music.  

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Of course not, we love playing all our titles and especially the loud music available on “Ov Asylum”. 

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Not actually. But, by the past, we have a regular place in a little town near Metz. 

What was your first gig like? The best souvenir is the first part of Blaze Bayley at Eloyes (2004). 

What was your latest gig? Our latest gig was in first part of Lacuna Coil in a metal fest (July 2016).   

Have you had to cancel a gig? I don’t remember. The last year I had a problem with my voice and a friend of mine has replaced me during a show in Switzerland. 

Where have you played live this year? We didn’t make shows this year. It was the moment to record and realize a video-clip. 

Where do you plan to gig the coming year? Of course, we prepare a really big surprise for the exit of our new album “Ophelian fields”. It’s a new start for us ! 

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? At the beginning, we had a very good distribution and we have passed a license contract with a Home label in Russia. It was the time of our first cd “Northern Recital”. This album was well-established and he got good sales. Now, we propose I choice of cds, tee-shirts and posters.  

Where can people buy your merchandise? You can find our last album on amazon, on Facebook or on our website. The tee-shits are available on our pages.  

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a day? It’s a very hard question. Maybe it’s the future, a strange modernity. I think Metal fans are different. He likes good product with pretty cover and a huge design. As for me, the new market of the Vinyl is an answer to this crisis.  

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Of course yes and now a lot of labels choose to sign a band for its capacity to make shows. It’s the best place to sell merchandise. 

What do you think of my work? It’s very important for us and for the music industry. It’s the future of the communication and the marketing for a group.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Of course yes. It’s a window for the band in Sweden, a possibility to expose our universe. At the beginning, we played concept albums on Viking culture, arts and traditions. Maybe some people will appreciate that. 

Do you have any role models or idols? Without hesitation, Nikki Sixx from Mötley Crüe. It’s really a great artist with good ideas.  

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

As for me, the music creation is a circle.  When we play a riff or a tune we are necessarily inspired by an image, an epoch or an atmosphere. In fact, we can find inspiration inside

the sound of an old band because, I think, all current creations are an eternal beginning. 

What have been your biggest obstacles? Today it’s the money with no hesitation. With money you can capture the world. The time of passion, philanthropists and sponsors is definitively over. The second obstacle is our country. In France, we don’t like Rock’n’Roll. When I say rock, it’s hard rock or heavy metal. My country is the state of poetry and lyricists. No medias, no radios with a big influence and nothing is being done to help our style. 

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Stay free! And don’t hesitate to refuse a bad deal.  Make your music, take some pleasure and be realistic. 

Do you have any new material? Yes, our new album will be available in February 2018. It’s the follow-up of “the Wayward son”. A good mixture between our classical style and our loudest influences.  He will be called “Ophelian Fields”.

What are your web sites? www.seyminhol.net  You can see too all the history of the band on the French page of Wikipedia or you can use our Facebook profile. 

What are your plans for the future? Actually, we prepare the exit of our new album and all the work of management and communication around him. We wish to present our new video-clip and our new teaser during the first month of 2018. We are working too on the important “tour” for the middle of 2018 and the year 2019. For 2020, I hope to create an amazing “best-of” of the better titles of the band. At that time, we will celebrate the 30 years of Seyminhol and my 44 years old anniversary. 

Do you have something to add? Thanks a lot for your interest, your support and the beautiful work that you make. It’s really a good job. I hope Seyminhol will be appreciated in Sweden during 2018 and 2019.  All the best for you and for our fans all over the world.

Kommentera här: