interview with DEATHRITUS

How is it that you started playing music? I was born with that passion. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? BARON BLOOD (Guitar,Vocals,Keyboard,synth,Bass,etc...) KAWAI (Drums) TOMMY EIGHT (Drums) THE DRUMMER OF DEATH (Drums + Keyboard) + Many collaborators
Have you had other previous members? Steinberg (Drums) (-Dead-)
Where are you from? Canada !!
What year did the band form? 1994 
What's your style of genre? I would say Hard Rock and Heavy Metal primarily...but I show no restrictions.
What inspires you? Mainly the unstoppable stupidity of the world we live in.
How often and where do you rehearse? We generally don't rehearse...we create.  
How would describe your sound in one sentence? I call it WELFARE METAL
How have you developed since you started with the music? The sound has changed a lot from day one up until today...lyrically it doesn't show much...but i know it did......the way i see things i wouldn't mind at all if the last song i ever do sounds like the first song i ever recorded....I wanna be able to do anything i want and add some munitions without rejecting the history behind me....I only add stuff to the whole project...I don't evolve in a way where i can't perform the older songs...it's all me....wether i go in a totally new direction or keep on doing the same kind of stuff it's still Deathritus.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Too many to mention but i'll say Family and Cinema.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? No I'm not and I can easily understand the need to get a good agency to do your bookings. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? No I prefer releasing my stuff by myself....in the 90's I had a deal with a company but that was before the internet took over.
What made you decide to make this music? Passion and Hatred.
What are your songs about? Hatred , Human Decay and the the ridiculous behaviors or humans and the planet they live on.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? 95% is Me (BARON BLOOD)
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Most of the time it is with the music.  Most of the time I start with music then lyrics...but sometimes I switch and some othe times I do both at the same time...I have no recipe.
Do you compose in a certain environment? Primarily in a calm environment by myself and other times I compose Live with drummers.
Have you done any covers live? It happened....with reworked lyrics....or snippets of songs. 
What language do you sing in? French.....and some occasionnal english.   
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? It varies....Deathritus has a large discography to pick songs from.  
What are your plans for the future? Releasing a new album in january and another one that I'm working on at the same time for a March or April release...I will also beging working on a new video very soon !....
Have any of you played in other bands? NO (BARON BLOOD)
How is it that you started playing music? A natural passion that feels like it was there even before I was born.....a passion for music that was tranferred by my parents !....they influence me a lot.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I don't sell, I give !....I believe in sharing the good news !....T-Shirts,CD's,Tapes. 
Where can people buy your merchandise? They can download albums for free if they ask or a link on our personnal facebook page or official website (deathritus.webs.com)
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I love it !....but obviously it's killing the industry.....record labels made so much money by screwing the artists that i don't feel bad for them not even for one second.....it's sad for the artists.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?  Only the artists that were successful before the download era can make a living out of this in 2017.....rare are the others who can make it now !...live shows are more important than ever.
What do you think of my work? It's fantastic !!....it gives every kind of creative mind a chance to express themselves with no limitations.  
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I'm doing this interview by sheer pleasure of sharing my thoughts with you....the rest doesn't count....I like your blog...I'm happy to participate :)
Do you have any role models or idols? So many !!.....many !!.....I would feel bad naming a few since i have been influenced and still is by many many artists !   
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I'll say older bands because what we call NEW BANDS are either boring to death or copies of older bands...with exceptions !!....thank God !! 
What have been your biggest obstacles? The limitations of the human brain and it's it's brainwashed community....because most people don't understand something or because they've been raised to think in a certain way makes it difficult to understand DEATHRITUS. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists?  Do what thou wilt....Music is art.....art is who you are....be yourself.
How do you get psyched for a gig? It comes naturally 
Do you have any new material? Sure ! :) ....new album coming up in january 2018.
What are your web sites? deathritus.webs.com (obviously :) , melodicrock.com and many others.
How can people reach you? https://www.facebook.com/DEATHRITUS-121193461254457/  or [email protected]
Do you have something to add? Freedom of speech.......and thanks to you Robex !

Kommentera här: