interview with Georgia Omarah Singer Songwriter

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, i have had the pleasure of a backing band called BayBop Quartet, a jazz quartet in the local area. 
How is it that you started playing music? I had grown up doing musical theatre and pantomimes since the age of 6, so always loved singing. I then started piano lessons at 11, and then the two merged into my song writing. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I'm 33, Georgia Omarah and i'm a singer Songwriter and Pianist. 
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, i started writing during secondary school at 11. I still play one of my first songs i wrote back then just brought up to speed. 
Where are you from? Newton Abbot Devon, England.
What's your style of genre? Adult contemporary meets jazz, blues and ballad. 
What inspires you? Life. Mental health, physical health issues, normal people going through extraordinary events and grief. 
How often and where do you rehearse? As a soloist, i get the joy of rehearsing at home every single day. 
How have you developed since you started with the music? I used to be very pop based and only ballad music, but since working with a great friend and keyboard player Simon McGinnes, I've spread into the jazz and blues sector too. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? My children and family. They mean the world to me. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes i am but i'm also looking for other people to take on my songs and see them bloom into world wide successes. 
What made you decide to make this music? I wanted to spread important messages like, "I'm there for you" and "Although life is hard, we can help each other" by singing about my own losses and life experiences. If i'm open about my struggles, i find people open up about theirs and then that makes the world a better place to be in.
What are your songs about? Mainly love and Loss. I lost my father at 19 and it took me a massive amount of time to even utter his name. I realised i should use music to sing about my struggles and it helped my grieving process so much. I like to take on things i hear about through friends lives too. I have a song about a relationship break up about a friend of mine. It's about the whole process like before the break up, during and after. Has a great sound to it. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do! The whole lot. I don't have a process of starting with one or the other, but i find the right sound and figure out lyrics I've either previously written or have an idea already. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Isn't that the million dollar question! It's different every time.
Have you done any covers live? Yes, i've done a lovely piano version of Numb by Linkin Park in memory of Chester. 
What language do you sing in? English
What ages are most of your concert attendants? a variety. I seem to appeal to a lot of ages which is great! 
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? no i vary, sometimes i change my mind during the performance! I like to adapt the songs for the venue or audience. 
What was your first gig like? Nerve racking! I started at open mic nights as an adult having only previously done school gigs but i found it a great way to build my confidence as an artist and to help with my stage presence too. 
What was your latest gig? On The Waterfront in Exeter for New Years Eve. 

Where do you plan to gig the coming year? Got a few festivals in the pipe line as well as some radio appearances which is good. I'd like to go further though with my music, all over the UK and then beyond. 
Where can people buy your merchandise? On my website
www.georgiaomarah.com
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? if they are paying for it, i don't find it an issue but i don't like people who download illegally. Makes musicians lives harder than it needs to be. 
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Sometimes i feel a lot more rubbish quality songs are coming out more as a sausage factory of music to make money quickly instead of the old fashioned great quality everything going into 1 perfect song but that's just my opinion. 
What do you think of my work? It's GREAT!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Well i hope more people will take time to look at my website and maybe managers or labels would take a look and consider listening to my stuff. 
Do you have any role models or idols? YES! Carol King, Joni Mitchell, Jo Harman, Rag and Bone Man and Adele. 
Why do you think that they exist? Brilliant quality great music. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Older i think. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? My look. I'm an over weight 33 year old mum. On paper, i sound very unappealing for the music industry but i don't care. I think people are being more open minded these days to normal looking people having talent and that's OK. It's part of my journey actually to why i look the way i do so i think it gives my cause strength and well if people don't like it? Don't look. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Keep a strong head and keep to what you know well. People will always try and change your stuff to mould you, but stay true to your reasons for writing the great songs you have. Be unique!
Do you have any new material? I have an EP being released in Feb called "Take My Hand" which is going to be very exciting.
What are your web sites?
www.georgiaomarah.com I have links to YouTube, Facebook Twitter and Instagram on there too. 
How can people reach you? website is best.
What are your plans for the future? Album, world tours, duets who knows!!! I'll keep the future diary clear!
Do you have something to add? I just want to share my passion. Music is why i breath, why i bother getting out of bed some mornings as a mental health survivor and it's so important for me to share my story to others and relate through music. 

Kommentera här: