interview with The Daisy Stranglers

Have any of you played in other bands? yes all 3 of us have been in other bands, in fact myself and our new drummer were in the same band but at different times. Our guitar player plays bass in another band
How is it that you started playing music? I started loving music at a very young age. My oldest brother was in a band when I was 7 and he was about 16......I loved to sneak downstairs and listen. Funny story, I thought there wrote comfortably numb.....and when I first heard the real version I was very confused and thought it wasn’t as good.....keep in mind I was 7
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Diane Slack is our guitar player and fox’s
Daren Baldock is our new drummer and we are super excited
And I’m Coral Miller I play bass and lead vocals
We are all over 40......mature😜
Have you had other previous members? Originally we were an all girl band, however that has changed and we are now girl fronted
Did you make music even when you were young? My mom had a dance studio and taught belly dance, Tahitian, and other different dancing in the early 80....there was always musicians, entertainers and dancers at our house. I did sing with a friend of my moms when I was about 13.....then was a singer in a little basement band when I was 20.....wasn’t until later in life I taught myself to play the bass....I watched YouTube vids of the Pixies...”hey” was the first song I learnt
Where are you from?
Nanaimo British Columbia Canada
Aka: The City with No pity or Nam
What year did the band form? The Stranglers formed late 2015
What's your style of genre? We call it GRUNK....combo of Garage Rock, Grunge and Punk all rolled into a prickly ball
What inspires you? Depends....musically I am inspired by unique and different stuff.  I have a huge love for 2 piece bands....love the rawness of the sound
How often and where do you reherse? Usually at least once a week....more if we are working on new stuff or getting ready for shows
How have you developed since you started with the music? I think my comfort on stage has definitely developed and that always helps your show/set. I still write lyrics and the melody the same as I alway have
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Up until 2 years ago I played roller derby had to quit since I had knee surgery. Interesting fact, Diane and myself are nurses. I work as an RN in Palliative care and Diane is an LPN and works various places 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I feel like we are pretty good at booking shows and promotion but I’m not against having a booking agency. As you may know, original bands don’t always make a lot of money at shows.....so not sure who would pay him haha
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Not really........I guess if we got approached we would weigh the pros and cons
What made you decide to make this music? To let out my frustrations
What are your songs about? Ohhhhh many things
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Mostly I do the lyrics and melody then bring it to the band and we flesh it out and see what happens. Diane is bringing some amazing melodies now too
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I start with what comes first, sometimes I write the lyrics first, sometimes I have the melody first
Do you compose in a certain inviroment?
Anywhere.....I have pieces of papers with pieces of song lyrics everywhere
Have you done any covers live? Yes....Second Skin by the Gits and Cobra Matte by The Pack AD
What language do you sing in? English.....although my dad says he can’t understand a “god dammed thing I say”
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Played to a handful of people to a sold out show 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Well usually play in bars so anywhere from 19 to ? My in-laws came to our show last year and he is 93 years old, it was so awesome
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Usually, I like to mix the set up though....and we are working on new songs
Do you have a regular place you play live often? It used to be the good ole Cambie but live venues are getting few and far between.....we are open to playing anywhere
What was your first gig like? My first gig in this band was so RAD.....we opened for The Pack AD on my bday....doesn’t get any better than that
What was your latest gig? Our last gig was out of town in Victoria with a bunch of diverse bands, haven’t played since knee surgery in Sept
Have you had to cancel a gig? Never.....moved them to different dates tho
Where have you played live this year? We have played all over Vancouver Island and got to play our first couple shows in Vancouver.....was super exciting 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? All over the island....Vancouver and we have a tour booked for the end of the summer with this RAD all Girl Punk band from East Van called The Shit Talkers
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We have shirts, stickers and lighters presently....working on new merch and our debut CD
Where can people buy your merchandise? At shows or on our fb page....
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think it’s a great way to get your music heard.....I still buy albums if I’m intrigued by a song
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Anything to get our name and music out there is excellent
Do you have any role models or idols? Whoa.......maybe Buddha? Many music idols....mostly female rockers
Why do you think that they exist? Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
I think both
What have been your biggest obstacles? I think working around work schedules is the biggest challenge , since we all work
What advice would you give other bands or artists?
Be true to yourself....if you are making music based on what you think people will want to hear....your screwed
How do you get psyched for a gig? This sounds funny....but I mediate....have a few drinks....and mostly keep telling myself to have fun above all else
Do you have any new material? We do have a few new songs
What are your web sites? How can people reach you? The Daisy Stranglers fb page....will have our album on Bandcamp when done
What are your plans for the future? Play play play
Do you have something to add?
Thanks for asking us to do this interview

Kommentera här: