interview with Winter Owl

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, we all had our story with other bands.
How is it that you started playing music? This project is my quite old dream, some of the songs in the album "Cursed Sanctuary" , soon to be released indipendently, were written 15 years ago. 3 years ago I started to write new material and rearrange the old tunes. Now we have almost a band, we are looking for a bass player.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Luigi iamundo / Guitars and bass 34yo
Marco Vantini / Singer 36yo
Alessio De Antoni / keyboards 36yo
Max Pizzano / Drums
Have you had other previous members? No.
Did you make music even when you were young? I started playing clarinet at 8 yo, then  saxophone, then guitar and bass.
Where are you from? Verona, Italy.
What year did the band form? The band is young, summer 2017.
What's your style of genre? Heavy/power/prog metal... I guess! :)
What inspires you? Bands like Ayreon (he totally blew my mind), Blind Guardian, Dream Theater, Nightwish, Symphony X, Toto, Frank Zappa.
How often and where do you reherse? As for now not so much, we want the band to be complete to start rehearsing seriously.
How have you developed since you started with the music?My songwriting has quite improved since I started, people often used to told me "this songs are cool, but quite messy..fix them!" so i fixed them, and I'm quite happy of the achievements.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I love photography, but got really few time to shoot some pictures.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Well, for now our primary objective is to release the album. After that I guess we will start considering all the options.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes...totally...that would be great! We'll send out our album as many as possible.
What made you decide to make this music? I was always a power metal kid, big guitars and epic choruses, but enjoyed also more complex music such as prog metal. As I said before Ayreon's music gave me that kind of thrill that makes you say "ok..you can do it!".
What are your songs about? Everyday life, feelings, we do not speak about politics.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I composed all the and wrote few phrases, Marco wrote the lyrics and vocals. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I definitely start with the music. Words for me are too difficult to manage.
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? There has been no gigs at this time, we hope to start to play live next summer.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I guess we'll start with pubs and clubs, and I hope some local festival too.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Buying records is something you gotta feel, the fact is that now a days most of the music you hear is on your cellphone. I barely have time to put on a vinyl and sit on my couch to listen. We don't have time to live, to taste what is like to sit, relax, and do nothing except what we like to do.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I don't think the music industry has changed because of this, it has changed because now with the technology we have, everyone can record an album and sell his music. There is much more music availability today than 40 years ago. And it's a lot more dfficult to stand up.    
What do you think of my work? I guess you give people a little chance to be heard.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I don't know actually, but I don't really care. I'm just glad you asked us to do this little interview.
Do you have any role models or idols? Not really, we like to be ourselves.
Why do you think that they exist? They exist because of people that need a leader, someone to believe in. It's quite sad actually. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? For me, I guess from older bands. Much easier to recreate a sound or an atmosphere.
What have been your biggest obstacles? As a band, we are all grown up and have different jobs, different lifestyles, families..and it's not that easy to catch up and rehearse.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? It's quite obvious and cheesy, play your music, music you like, music you feel. Success is not a goal. 
How do you get psyched for a gig? We'll tell you as soon as we'll play a gig.
Do you have any new material? I have some new material, and as soon as the album we'll be released I'll start to work on it.
What are your web sites? www.soundcloud.com/winter_owl_band and our facebook page https://www.facebook.com/WinterOwlOfficial/
What are your plans for the future? Rehears, rehearse and more rehearse.
Do you have something to add? No, we only want to thank you for the interview! :)

Kommentera här: