interview with Jamie Ferguson

Have any of you played in other bands? Well I am a solo artist but before this project I was a session musician for B Franklin and Rime Suspex
How is it that you started playing music? I first heard ACDC when I was 10 and that really got me into wanting to playing the electric guitar.
How old are you? I am 22
Where are you from? Manchester, England
What's your style of genreModern-fingerstyle acoustic
What inspires you? Raw, heartfelt composers or nature
How often and where do you rehearseI try and practice atleast a couple hours every day in my flat
How have you developed since you started with the music? I just try to write as much as I can with as many good songwriters as I can and also gig on average 3-4 times a week.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I am not looking for one but if the right person came a long that could help me perform to a wider audience I would be interested
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I have no intentions on joining a label as I am a bit of a control freak.
What made you decide to make this music? Andy Mckee initially and that got me into Michael Hedges, Calum Graham and Don Ross which are the main fingerstyle composers that had/have an impact on me.
What are your songs about? It varies, mainly places
Have you done any covers live? Yes, I try and do arrangements that people know but in my own style.
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 3-1000
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Jimmys in Manchester
Do you have any role models or idols? Mike Dawes and John Frusciante
Why do you think that they exist? I think as well as his insane guitar playing he just has the business side to his act perfected. He is also a great mentor and has helped me with my arranging and composition. As for John Frusciante I can't say I have met him but his musical genious always inspires me to make music and also be as like affirming as possible both inside and outside of my music.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
Good question. I think mainstream music in the 60's and 70's was much more raw and heartfelt and I do prefer it. I do think there is still great music being made today but a lot of chart stuff is pretty diluted and done to a formula.
Hope this is what you wanted.

Kommentera här: