interview with Nick Granville

Have any of you played in other bands? I work as a freelance musician, and play with many bands. I allow the musicians In my groups to do the same. 
How is it that you started playing music? My step father is a musician and we all played music together from a young age.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Nick Granville, Guitar, 39 years old. 
Have you had other previous members? My band is ever changing. It’s mostly Lance Philip and Leo Coghini these days. 
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, I started on keyboard for a few years then switched to guitar when I was around 10 years old. 
Where are you from? Wellington, New Zealand. 
What year did the band form? My current band formed about 3 years ago. 
What's your style of genre? Jazz, jazz fusion aka Jazz and funk music combined. 
What inspires you? Music, Art especially photography. People. 
How often and where do you reherse? we hardly ever rehearse. I prefer not to, as we improvise and if we rehearse we work out too many things. it’s much better when we just play and listen. 
How have you developed since you started with the music? I think I’m a better musician these days, not just a guitarist. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I’m very inspired by photography. It find it relaxing to do, and I enjoy the community. 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I’d love to have a booking agent and for overseas gigs I could really use someone to do this. Currently I just do it all myself. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I have no desire to use a label. They are mostly unnecessary these days. 
What made you decide to make this music? It’s who I am. the music found me, as cheesy as that sounds. 
What are your songs about? My songs are about whatever is going on at the time for me. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do all the composing, and I never write lyrics. I write instrumental music. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Always the music, I never write lyrics. 
Do you compose in a certain Enviroment? Nope, often I write on the road, or anywhere. 
Have you done any covers live? Yep, often. I like playing anything thats good. 
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I’ve played for very few and for very large audiences. Biggest would be 40,000 at a concert and 1million + for a TV show. Smallest, probably just a few people. I take both just as seriously. 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? All ages but mostly for adults. 
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Often the same songs. 
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes, various bars and music venues around wellington and NZ
What was your first gig like? Scary. 
What was your latest gig? Played a concert for the Wellington Jazz festival with drummer Terreon 'Tank’ Gully. 
Have you had to cancel a gig? Yes, but it’s very rare. Only in extreme circumstances beyond my control. 
Where have you played live this year? Yes, I’ve played about 70-100 gigs already around NZ. 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I’m playing in New Caledonia in a week. Thats a first for me and I’m excited to be going there. 
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Pretty much just CD’s for sale. I’ve made other merch for giveaway, e.g Guitar picks etc. 
Where can people buy your merchandise? CD’s available at usual places. 
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I really dont like the current download music industry. Its great for the consumer and terrible for the artist. 
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It’s become worse in almost everyway, but I’m going to do this anyway. 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I’m not sure, but I keep an open mind and hope to reach new people with my music. 
Do you have any role models or idols? plenty, local people and abroad. 
Why do you think that they exist? They’re real people who do what they say they'll do. Thats inspiring. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both. Age or length of time has nothing to do with it - I either like the music or I don’t. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? Money. It’s the same for all artists and small minded people who are trying to cut down others. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Be true to who you are and do everything with integrity. 
How do you get psyched for a gig? No real method, but I do always warm up before I play.
Do you have any new material? Yep. 
What are your web sites? www.nickgranville.com
How can people reach you? Facebook, instagram, Website etc. 
What are your plans for the future? Make more music and have more video content for people. 
Do you have something to add? Thanks

Kommentera här: