interview with Пайкес Антон / HozPort

Have any of you played in other bands? Nope. You know, I am the creator of this project. I can say that I can be a band or bands myself :) Because I like to create projects.
How is it that you started playing music? There was a line in one of our old songs: "I picked up a guitar to
have sex with one girl". Yeah, that's how it was. But to be honest, I grew up surrounded by creativity. We recorded albums, wrote some dumb stories... This was a normal pastime in my childhood. Our ambitions were
grandiose.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Ok. My name is Anton Paikes, I’m 29. The "Iz_Medvedkovo" band is my
project. Two girls play with me: a pianist Yulia and a bass player
Tatiana. And we have another guy Maksim (loops, back-MC).
I think I need to explain the name of the band. Medvedkovo is a district
of Moscow, outskirts. So our name means "From Medvedkovo" - guys from
the outskirts, such aesthetics.
Have you had other previous members? Yeah! Many guitarists played in our project, but they always leave. Now we are looking for a new one again.
Did you make music even when you were young? Oui, I wrote my first song when I was 12.
Where are you from? Moscow. Medvedkovo district.
What year did the band form? You know, it's not an ordinary band, it's a project. Paikes Anton's project. I can say that this project was born with me. But in this incarnation we started in 2015.
What's your style of genre? Hehe. Existential recitative, something like this. Maybe it's rap with screamo and psychedelic.
What inspires you? Hm. My personal experience, I think. We don’t sing about the external world surrounding us, only about people’s inner world. I think it can be interesting for those, who perceive the world like I do.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? My element is text. I write songs, novels, etc. For example, I’m publish in a big novel this year. In addition, I work, like my musicians. And you know, we have two post-graduate students.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, I have some thoughts about this subject. I think we will record by ourselves. I have small company - Genefis Media. It will work like a label for us.
What made you decide to make this music? The meaning of creating this music is literature. We make literature with orchestration.
What are your songs about? Semantics: growing up, personal crises, urban outskirts, existentialism, travel inside your own mind.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I, of course.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Lirics.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I usually write on the road. It's something so Russian - writind on
the road, about the road. This motive is like national one, I think.
Have you done any covers live? Nope.
What language do you sing in? Russian. I can speak English and French, but I’m not very good at it. You’ve probably already noticed this :)) So, I can only write in Russian.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? The average is about 50 people. There are several standards in Moscow, a 50-person band is one of this standarts.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? 30-40 years.
What was your first gig like? My own first gig was in small acoustic club. There were people who hated me, because I am a music journalist. And I smashed their events to the fucking mother in my articles. And they invited me to their place, probably to take revenge :) But it was ok, I played some songs... It's the end of this story.
What was your latest gig? It was my B-day. We played in acoustic (because we don’t have a guitarist now), it was interesting. There is a club in Moscow named "Prancing Dreadnought". It is a bar in the building of an old noble manor. Stylish place. Especially for the group that reads about the outskirts.
Have you had to cancel a gig? No.
Where have you played live this year? In Dreadnought, in some small festivals.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I hope to make a presentation of my novel, and we will play there in large.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? It's cool. No, it isn’t :) I know, that a musician wants to eat. But we are in a new era. Probably, it's a moment to look for some new ways to monetize.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It fell into hell. A new era. And we all are old men. In general, you know, I think that music is not about money. Concerts - yes, merch - yes, but music as Music - no.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? No, I don't think so. But you are cool :) This is something like an international teleconference for musicians.
What have been your biggest obstacles? I have big problems with my voice. I used to sing, and it was bad. I'm reading now, and I am not bad at it.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Music is like sex. Not always pleasant, sometimes - traumatic, but always must end with orgasm or there is no sense. If you do not feel that you are turning yourself inside out on the stage, fuck it.
How do you get psyched for a gig? "Oh, this is the end! Oh, fuck!". Then you come on stage, music starts to play... "Ok, I am your God now".
What are your web sites? At this moment we don’t have any website, only groups in social media.
How can people reach you?
I have this page in Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HozPortMMH/ -
it's about all my projects, not only our band. In Russia there is this
community: https://vk.com/anton_paykes.
What are your plans for the future? Turn the world over, of course. And also record an album, play a couple of concerts and all that.
Do you have something to add? I think I do not have enough knowledge of English to explain to your readers what our group does - it isn’t only music. This is literature. I'm not even sure that this in fact can be explained, it is possible that this is a purely Russian phenomenon. In the end, we are a literary country, oriented to the text. You know Dostoevsky, Tolstoy etc, yeah? They are prose writers. Big text, big novels - it's our destiny. Perhaps, including thanks to me, your readers will someday get acquainted with such a phenomenon as musical literature.

Kommentera här: