interview with Kevin Buckley

Have any of you played in other bands? We all played in other bands and most of us keep on performing with other artists or bands.

How is it that you started playing music? I started playing music when i was 10. I started with guitar andharmonica a few years later which is my favorite and predominant instrument.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
My name is Kevin Buckley, 40, lead vocal, harmonica/ac. gtr

Eric MICHEL, 50, lead guitar Telecaster, 

Jean-Michaël TALLET, 40, drums, 

Pascal LASNIER, 50, bass gtr,

Olivier LECLERC, 33, fiddle player

Jean-Yves Lozac'h, ??(he does not want me to know :)), pedal-steel gtr/banjo
Have you had other previous members? We played a few years ago with Manuel Decocq one of the best fiddle player in France.
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes i did, i played my first gig when I was 12.
Where are you from? I'm from Paris, France. Actually I live in Normandy in north-west of France, around 5 km from where the US troops landed in Omaha Beach (have you ever seen "Private Ryan" with Tom Hanks ?). Eric and Jean-Michaël live close to me and the rest of the band live in Paris.
What year did the band form? 2008
What's your style of genre? modern country music with a french touch
What inspires you? Life, nature, people, great artists as Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash, Radney Foster, Brad Paisley, Chris Stappleton, Maren Moris, Charlie McCoy and many others ...
How often and where do you reherse? We're always on the road , it's hard to find time for rehearsal. In fact we can't.
How have you developed since you started with the music? as a bunch of bands, we started as a country music covers band. I quickly knew what sound i wanted and after a couple oh month, Eric and I wrote and composed our first album which had a blast on radio and since that time we played everywhere in France and Europe. 5 years ago, i've been contacted by a US artist, WC EDGAR who played with Tim McGraw and George STRAIT, he was looking for a house band as he wanted to tour in Europe.
I managed the tour myself and we had a couple of gigs in France.

After EDGAR, we played with TEXAS music artist from Austin and Abilene as Jamie RICHARDS or Mark POWELL. Also Carlton MOODY from Nashville who played twice at the White House for presidents Bush and Obama.

We toured with them in Europe (Poland, Denmark, Spain, Switzerland, Lituania...). We performed with country star Buddy Jewell last summer for a couple of gigs. We'll accompany country star James House 2019 summer. We will back our old friend Charlie McCoy up, the legend of country harmonica, next year too.
I'm working with a female singer from Alabama, Lexie Kendrick. We are composing and writing her brand new album which will be released around september.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I love art, painting, cinema and my children !
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?
I'm looking for a booking agency able to  get some gigs for us in North europe so that I can spread my music and those of my friends (James House, Mark Powell, Jamie Richards etc...)
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? a label should be the ideal rank for us as it means a whole team working for your marketing, communication, booking and management. The work i do since the beginning by myself.
What made you decide to make this music? I love country music since I'm a young teenager. But since i learned playing harmonica, it's been the kind of music i wanted to play.
What are your songs about? Our songs talk about confrontational relationship between generations, about love, about the economic crisis and resilience...
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?
I compose and Eric MICHEL writes the lyrics.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? It depends on the moment, sometimes I can talk about a story to tell our public with a specific subject and Eric will write the lyrics. I often make suggestions. After I'm working on a melody and harmony.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I compose in my studio without any sound around me ! Sometimes I can get up in the middle of the night for trying an idea I dreamt.
Have you done any covers live? oh yes, alot and we keep on playing good covers
What language do you sing in?
in English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? country music lovers of course and people who want to have fun with a great music live show.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? between 20 and 77 years old :)
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? it depends on where I play, i value quality over quantity
Do you have a regular place you play live often? no
What was your first gig like? it was a showcase where we performed on stage for the first time, others artists performed too, and we won the special prize of the public.
What was your latest gig? We played for a big country dance club (500 people).
Have you had to cancel a gig? never
Where have you played live this year?
a lot of gigs all over France
Where do you play to gig the comming year?
we played a lot last year and we have several music projects to work for. Then we'll keep on playing but a little bit less for having enought time to make it easier.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?
i started selling merch when our first album's been released. We sold alot of our first one, Tshirts, posters...
Where can people buy your merchandise?
at the end of our live shows, we sell CDs
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
you mean people downloading illegaly ? if cd's were cheaper... It is the fault of record companies, they gorged themselves...
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? yes I do and technology is just a way for escaping music industry embrace.
What do you think of my work?
I appreciate that people take an interest in my music, my job as country music artist made in Europe, there are not much concerned media, so i am very glad to share with you
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business
? i don't know if this interview will help us in this music business but i still have faith
Do you have any role models or idols?
not really idols but artist I appreciate a lot as Radney Foster and James House. James is a great songwriter, singer, musician, he wrote for Dwight Yoakam, Martina McBride, Sara Evans, The Mavericks, Tina Turner, and recently for virtuso lead guitarist Joe Bonamassa.
Why do you think that they exist? right people at the right time with the right songs ! But above all, talent...
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?
it is easier because you can hear their last gigs on the web despite not being in the audience, it's magic. And just because I can see what kind of bands succeed ,I don't want to do the same, I just want to play my stuff.
What have been your biggest obstacles? money, wrong people, jealousy, bad people, contempt of european music industry
What advice would you give other bands or artists?
keep on doing their own stuff, and work hard
How do you get psyched for a gig?
a good song list, good musicians on stage, friendship and a good sound on stage are the ingredients to make it cool
Do you have any new material?
no but we plan to record new songs in 2019, after finishing our different actual projects
What are your web sites?
www.kevinbuckley.fr  / http://www.keby-and-co.com/April/april-may-the-live-oaks-ep-5-titres/https://www.facebook.com/Jameshousemusic/
How can people reach you?
by email at [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? keep on backing US artists up in Europe, recording a new album and meeting people spreading the world with our music ;)
Do you have something to add?
just A BIG THANK YOU and also my hope to get some gigs in sweden and look forward meeting you in sweden  

 

Kommentera här: