interview with Robert Linton

Have any of you played in other bands? Ive played in a few, about 3 when I first started, but only 2 serious bands. 
How is it that you started playing music? 
When I was a teen aged boy, I saw the Who live in Toronto in 1982, it made an impression, then my mother died shortly after, at Christmas time, my father asked me what I wanted… and that was my first guitar.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? lol, Rob or Robert Linton is my name, I am my own band, I write and produce my songs, and record all the instruments and vocals.
Have you had other previous members? No. But I will be collaborating with some very gifted artists on my 10th album.
Did you make music even when you were young? From the age of 14.
Where are you from? I was born in Edmonton Aberta Canada, but live in Toronto Canada..
What year did the band form? The year I was born. Lol. 
What's your style of genre? Hmmm. Probably why I don’t have a major label… my influences go back to most eras, and now is spreading out to culture, I think my compositions vary and reflect not just genre but eras in them.
What inspires you? When I see someone get out of their seat for an elderly person. Very simple things people do to help each other. Just because it’s right. My wife, Debbie.
How often and where do you reherse? When gigging, 4 x 6 hour sessions per week, When writing, when ever the spark hits. But I have a day job and family so I must be wise with my time.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Miles, and miles to go, and I hope after death even more miles, one can never master music, only follow its flow.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I have a small group of songwriters and amazing people I interact and assist with projects, i.e. CD cover graphics, music, etc… 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? 
I am keeping my options open and listening to all offers until the end of July 2018. I am receiving some very nice options and offers, but will not speak upon or commit to any until early fall of this year. I need the time and privacy to review them all professionally.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? If one suits me, but I prefer a network of smaller regional labels not the majors. 
What made you decide to make this music? My children were listening to music on the internet and I thought after hearing some of whats out there today, it was time to record my writings. My children are now adults so I have some freedom to record, and see how the world likes my songs.
What are your songs about? Life, my personal, imagined, and observed experiences and perspectives.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? lol, just me… sometimes I collaborate with my wife who sings like an angel on some songs we do for her.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? When I started, always lyrics, I find I have about a dozen different processes now. It comes with work and time.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I prefer a comfortable warm one, I like warm woods in the room but mostly just one peaceful enough for me to write….
Have you done any covers live? 
Tons. Springsteen, Petty, Hendrix, even Zeppelin, I have varied tastes..
What language do you sing in? 
Engish
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? lol, I think my first gig had about 3 people, but  I played it like it was my last… really, after seeing the turn out, I thought it was. Lol. My final gig was for charity at Mel Lastman Square in Toronto Ontario in 2001. There was around 4000 people, it was fun.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Mixed ages, I found, but all over 19.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I have a catalogue of over 800 cover songs, and 118 originals, with another 40 on their way… I play the ones that my slow brain of mine can remember…lol… when I was gigging I found I played a core of the same songs but switched about 1/3 up nightly.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? My living room and the studio. I’m back playing for the first time in 17 years. I’ve spent 2016- now recording 8 albums of music.
What was your first gig like? Scary for the first 30 seconds. Its kinda funny now I look back upon it. It felt weird that everyone was staring at me… then it kicked in my brain,, hey they are here to see you… then this guy shows up inside me, and Im a happy performer…
What was your latest gig? 2001
Have you had to cancel a gig? 
No and I’m proud of that, although my early career was short. It was professional as I could be. Never late, always delivered. I stopped early as I took the time to raise a family, I did not feel I could be a touring musician and take proper care of my wife and children.
Where have you played live this year? All Facebook, and it was nerve wracking at times. Worse than in front of people, once a friend called in the middle of a performance, I have never encountered that kind of distraction before…. I find it an adrenaline rush and fun… good practice. 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Not certain, my 9th album Renaissance will be for sale on USB format and I am entertaining lots of offers and can’t speak upon anything until the tornado slows down….
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? You will see what there is if you stick around my friend. There will be. 
Where can people buy your merchandise? I would make it online, easy and affordable.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? 
I think there is a place for that, but I also believe people like a ‘totem,’ I am hoping my new ideas will bridge that gap.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? 
What music industry, I see death and carnage.
What do you think of my work? 
Lol, I think you have asked some very good questions for a first interview and was respectful yet bold upon your approach.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I don’t, I just liked your approach and thought you deserved the time. You did take the time to seek me out and very professionally. I appreciate that.
Do you have any role models or idols? No idols, but too many role models to name, right now the group I’m hanging with, Derek Swain, David Powell, and Bradley Scott Manning, all super awesome guys and songwriter/performers.
Why do you think that they exist? My role models, because they not only were the first, but because they brought other things to music more than people know, Buddy Holly, Beatles (Multi Track recording) Elvis Presley (marketing) Bob Dylan and folk, (intelligence) , Jimi Hendrix, the modern stage set up, more recording pioneering. Les Paul, the list goes on and on…
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? 
I find since my tastes go so far back, the guys that influenced Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, the Who, Stones, Beatles, were all the same guys who influenced me, add the more modern influenced artists, it’s a small wonder I don’t have an identity crisis as a writer…lol. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? Money, support, my wife has always been a great support, but prior to that I had none, I’m a left handed, playing right, with no formal background, only what I taught myself. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Be smart with your time and the business, lay off the party a little and drop the big ego… no one likes a jerk.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Knowing the folks there are there to see me… I want to do my best for them every time, least I can do. They take the time, trouble, and (money) then they deserve my best. I know live is a minefield of error sometimes , but the entertainment must be as good as I can make it.
Do you have any new material? lol, Renaissance coming out late fall, I’m dropping little live acoustic versions of it’s songs on my FB page only.
What are your web sites?
Facebook and Youtube. 
https://www.facebook.com/robert.linton.77715
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5TOTNCVuvvx6QXrMm-oQNw
How can people reach you? Message, if it’s reasonably intelligent, I will answer it, it may take a little time, but I will.
What are your plans for the future?
Release Renaissance in late fall of 2018, begin work on The Tenth Collection of Works Album to release in Summer of 2019.
Review the offers I am getting and then see. I must admit right now my world is spinning fast. But I have it in check.
Do you have something to add?
Thank you for a most pleasant and wonderful experience. I’ll add a  few digital promo goodies for you in a separate email later tonight to say thank you.
Thank you to your readers for taking the time to hear about me, and for your attention. I wish all of you the best and hope you enjoy listening to my music. 

Kommentera här: