interview with Big City

Have any of you played in other bands? I started my musical career in Satyricon and was their live guitarist between 1996-1999. In 1997 I started my own band, Scariot, and we did 4 albums the next 8 years. In 1998 I started Blood Red Throne, which has been my main band the last 20 years. I also had a couple of other bands, Zerozonic and Cobolt 60, but Big City and Blood Red Throne are my bands today.
How is it that you started playing music? Because my best friend played guitar and I wanted too. I was introduced to heavy metal music by my mother in the 80's and have been hooked ever since. Everything from 80's hair metal to extreme metal.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Daniel Olaisen(40): guitar
Frank Ørland(47): guitar
Jan Le Brandt(44): vocals
Miguel Pereira(35): bass
Frank Nordeng Røe(31): drums
Have you had other previous members? We never had a permanent bass player until Miguel, but it's a different dude playing bass on the first album. The rest og us have been together since the very beginning.
Did you make music even when you were young? As everybody else I started learning Smoke on the Water and then all the Metallica stuff. I started writing my own material when I was about 14 and I still have thos things recorded live on a cassette! Since then I've released 21 studio albums +++.
Where are you from? Kristiansand, Norway.
What year did the band form? Around 2010.
What's your style of genre? Melodic heavy rock/metal.
What inspires you? Feedback. Good and bad!
How often and where do you reherse? Never. We live in different cities and only show up for gigs.
How have you developed since you started with the music? I don't think I'm more skilled today than 15 years ago, but I definitely know better how to put together great songs.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Football. I spend much time on both playing and watching football. I almost made it to the national team when I was younger and I still play in the league system. I also work shift.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Indeed. We are aiming high with this band and we need a booking agency to take care of that part.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We are signed to Rock of Angels Records!
What made you decide to make this music? I've been a fan of 80's metal since the...80's. I've made riffs all the time, but never found a decent singer. When I did...Big City was born!
What are your songs about? The lyrics are personal to our singer Brandt and many of them self-experienced. It's about everyday problems, but also good things in life.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Frank Ørland and I write all the music and Jan Le Brandt writes the lyrics.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music!
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I make all my music in my home studio and record ideas.
Have you done any covers live? Many. Priest, Metallica, Pantera, Slipknot, Death, Michael Jackson to name a few. 
What language do you sing in? English all the way.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? So far...100 and 1000.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? 30+
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Some variation. Depends if we have a new album out.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Not yet.
What was your first gig like? My first live gig ever was at Dynamo Festival in 1997 with Satyricon. Pretty sick!
What was your latest gig? Norway Rock Festival July 2018.
Have you had to cancel a gig? Nope!
Where have you played live this year? UK and Norway so far.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Back to Canada and hopefully Greece + European Tour.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? When I started a band of course. Mostly CD's, vinyls and t-shirts.
Where can people buy your merchandise? Bandcamp or from my e-mail.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I don't care. Can't stop it.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? People don't care about music like they did 20 years ago. Instead of getting into 10 albums a year, peole check out 500 youtube links instead and don't remember anything of it.
What do you think of my work? I'm sure it's great!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I expect nothing less than becoming rock stars!
Do you have any role models or idols? Nope. Animals as Leaders!
Why do you think that they exist? Because of people.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I'm old-school...so that's an easy one.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Reaching out and get people to understand quality music.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Stop playing and start listening!8-)
How do you get psyched for a gig? Cold beers and a great crowd!
Do you have any new material? Always some riffs in my pocket.
What are your web sites? soundcloud.com/bigcity
How can people reach you? [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? Survive some more and then a little.
Do you have something to add? 1 + 1 = 3

Kommentera här: