interview with BKR

Have any of you played in other bands?
Jimmy D : I've been in one other band, death metal. it wasn't as fun as this by far. 
Frenchy : BKR is my first band
Steve Kim: I've been in several bands none of which I would like to talk about.
How is it that you started playing music?
Jimmy D: I started playing when I was 8 years old after begging my mom for a year to buy me a guitar.
Frenchy: started playing French horn in school, my stepdad gave me a bass when I was 13. I've played as a hobby until I joined the band.
Steve Kim: I grew up with my father being a drummer. I really wanted to learn guitar but I picked up the drums
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Jimmy D is the lead singer and guitar player. He is 25 years old
Frenchy is the bass player and is 21 years old
Steve Kim is the drummer and he is 33 years old
Have you had other previous members? Yes. No one notable. 
Where are you from? Jimmy is from San Diego, California. Frenchy is from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Steve Kim is from Green Bay, Wisconsin. 
What year did the band form? 2013
What's your style of genre? Hard Rock/Punk Rock with thrash metal influences 
What inspires you?
Jimmy D: Learning new things
Frenchy: People that come to shows and support our music and my father.
Steve Kim: I love seeing people enjoy themselves. Every time I am on stage and I see people out there dancing moshing just enjoying themselves all together. Life sucks but if I can help give someone joy even for a few minutes it's worth it.
How often and where do you reherse? Whenever we can and we rehearse at a local punk venue. We rent it out for about an hour or so.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes we are. Just someone that has the bands best interests at heart. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes we are. We really like Duff Records from Italy, but like a manager, anyone that is willing to do what they can for us and have good intentions for our career is what we want.
What are your songs about? Anything from having fun with your friends to politics. Fuck Donald Trump. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? All of us.
Have you done any covers live? Skulls by Misfits, Bob by NOFX, Cocaine Blues by Johnny Cash, Needle And The Damage Done by Neil Young and Forbidden Zone by Misfits.
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 50 is the least when we play somewhere no ones ever heard of us, and about 500 at our biggest.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? All ages. Mostly anywhere between 18 and 35
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Right now we are playing our new album in its entirety. But it usually does vary.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Nomads and Georges Majestic Lounge in Fayetteville Arkansas
What was your first gig like? Packed. a lot of word of mouth. Momentum hasn't stopped since
What was your latest gig? Opening for US Bombs
Have you had to cancel a gig? No
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? American East coast for 2 weeks and a couple local festivals. Other than that, Tulsa Oklahoma to open for Agent Orange and Doyle.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Definitely older bands. There's just magic there that can't be matched 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? 
Jimmy D: Keep pushing forward. Don't ever take no for an answer and don't give up.
Frenchy: As long as you love what you do, don't stop doing it.
Steve Kim: Never stop. Sometimes it seems so hard to fight forward. But you have to remember that only you can stop you. No one else. Your gonna be your own worst critic so don't worry about what others have to say.
Do you have any new material? New stuff is in the works but nothing recorded as of right now.
What are your web sites?
www.facebook.com/Brassknuckleriot 
brassknuckleriot.bandcamp.com
instagram.com/BKRofficial13 
https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCM0WwjfQyIJeo3goj8E2x7Q
How can people reach you?
through our facebook page
www.facebook.com/Brassknuckleriot 

Kommentera här: