interview with Strynn

What´s the name of your band? Strynn

What made you call the band "Strynn"? A random name generator

How was the band formed? In 2011 after the split of a band called Black Storm when our last bassist left. Arzh joined us at the end of 2013.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? We are all from Bordeaux (south-west of France). Obscurisis plays drums, Anadrark and Dwimoberg guitars and vocals, and Arzh bass.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Nothing in particular, play music we like.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? We play 90’s black metal, the old way. Like Mütiilation, Satanic Warmaster, Beastcraft, Sargeist. Mid-tempo, cold and harsh riffs.

Where was your first gig? In a bar called L’Antidote in Bordeaux with Bemskiant and Nydvind.

Where was the latest gig? In a bar called Le Point Bar in a small village lost in the middle of French country near from Bordeaux (in Charente Maritime).

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? Everybody writes his part, Anadrark and Dwimorberg first. They write the lyrics too.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? We all have a primary since of humour, but Obscurisis speaks a lot…

What's good/bad with the band?

Bad: we are fucking wankers.

Good: we are good friends and we well know each other. Anadrark and Dwimorberg are very productive.

What are your songs about? Our songs are about torture, illness, despair. Nothing very original.            

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? A split with Galvauder (april 2012) and a first album called “Decadence” (april 2013).

Do you have any clips on YouTube? No, we hate clips.

How old are you?/What got you started in music?

Obscurisis: I’m 22, I started music because I wanted to hit some things with other stupid people, and that worked. And I wanted hookers and black jack tables.

Arzh: I’m 27, I started bass because my father is a funk bassist. I like the ballsy sound, there’s often prolapse in perspective.

Dwimorberg: I’m 25, I started to play guitar when I was 15 because it was cool. I wanted to be rich and choose Black Metal. It doesn’t work.

Anadrark : I’m 25, I started to play guitar when I was 18 because it was cool. I wanted to be famous and choose black metal. It doesn’t work.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage?
Obscurisis : I made my first metal show in 2009 with an old band of mine, in my school. That was awesome but there was no hookers nor black jack tables.

Arzh : I was 15 when I started to write and play heavy/thrash/rap shit in high school, sometimes I miss my young flow. But there was nice bouncing boobies.

Anadrark : I’ve not fucking idea and I don’t give a fuck.

Dwimorberg: In 2010 I think with the band before Strynn.

Best/worst gig you've played? The worst gig was in January in l’Estran (near Bordeaux). The sound engineer was probably drunk and played with the returns all the show. The best was at the Bootleg in February with Aequinoctium Sanguinis and Belenos.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? We have no shows planned for the moment.

Where have you played from then till now? We played in Bordeaux 7 times, Paris Poppins in Paris, Angoulême, The Point Bar in Vallet and in Franche Comté at the Forest Fest.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen?

Obscurisis: Dark Funeral, Marduk, Belphegor, Cannibal Corpse

Dwimorberg: 1349, Moonsorrow, Enslaved, Dark Space, Vreid, Negura Bunget, Angmar…

Anadrark: Negura Bunget

Arzh: Meshuggah, Gojira, Slayer, Toto

Is it always the same songs live? It depends, if we play a lot of show in the same city we change our setlist.

How big crowds do you usually play for? In general, 60-70 people.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? A second album, we will record in july, and maybe some shows at the end of the year.

What are your goals with your music? We don’t have any, just play what we want.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? It’s easier from older bands.

What's the first step when making a new song? Dwimorberg goes to Anadrark’s house or Anadrark goes to Dwimorberg’s house at the last moment when we found a riff.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? We do the both and don’t have any opinion about that. 

What would be your dreams for the band? Have Strynn socks.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Become mainstream. 

Have you been part of any other projects? Arzh: I record myself in the toilet and put techno samples. I also work with Bemskiant (black/death), Ionys (atmo rock/metal), and I’m learning now Henker songs (brutal death). I like to play with Obscurisis’ ass too.

Obscurisis: I am part of black/pagan band named Aequinoctium Sanguinis, a brutal death band unnamed, I’m in for a black metal studio project and I will probably relaunch my old death metal band. And probably create 4 or 5 other bands next year.

Anadrark: I recorded improvisation and I publish it under the name INM.IN. That is fucking awesome noisy shit.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music?

Dwimorberg: I do a PhD in marine geology.

Obscurisis : I study the law and Arzh’s genitals.

Arzh: I give bass lessons, study music, record myself in the toilet, I’ll work on bgm for videogames or smartphones’ app projects, and create prolapses from Obscurisis’ ass with techno samples.

Anadrark: I drink coffee, smoke cigarette and listen noise everytime.

What would you do if there was no music? Noise.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Wear a tshirt with Strynn written with a marker pen.

How often do you rehearse? We usually rehearse once a week, and once in 2 months with our bassist (because he’s not in Bordeaux at the moment).

Do you have any webpages? Yes, on facebook and we have our own website : http://www.strynn.eu (also in english).

Describe your show, visually and musically Everything is based on the music, we do not have any visual sho

What advice would you like to give other bands? Don’t try to make money out of your band.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? The members’ ambition can be a problem, and shitty sound technicians.

What is your favorite crappy instrument?
Old banger and Arzh’s bass guitar.
Arzh: Obscurisis’ ass.

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? In Strynn meeting, we laugh of each other all the time.

Kommentera här: