interview with Leichenzug

What´s the name of your band? The name of the band is “Leichenzug”.

What made you call the band "Leichenzug"? It’s the old german word for “funeral march” – I imagined a funeral march with lots of zombies and undead people when I founded the name.

How was the band formed? It wasn’t formed really cause it’s a one man band – I create the music on my own. I wrote the first songs for it in 2002.

Can you tell about your band? I play pagan metal with german lyrics. I try to create hateful, hard but melodic music and I think how you can describe the sound of “Leichenzug”.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? How I said, I m the only one in the band. I only have some live members, when we re going to have some livegigs. 

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? The ambition was to do whatever I want without restrictions – that’s why I came to the decision to do a one-man-band.

Where was your first gig? I think the first gig was in 2008 – it was in Annaberg / Erzgebirge, which had great bands like Eminenz or Dunkelgrafen. But I don’t remember who played with us at this evening – I guess we were the headliner.

Where was the latest gig? The last gig happened in Switzerland. It was a great gig together with the mighty Acherontas from Greece.

Who writes the music who writes lyrics? I write the music and a good friend of mine writes the lyrics for me mostly.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? Cause I like this style of music and I think that there aren’t much bands who play exactly that style. My songs mostly about paganism and against Christianity and all other religions, but also about nature and sometimes I have some horror lyrics.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I love to cover songs and translate them into my language – but I mostly write own stuff.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Yes. “Meisterwerk” and “Das letzte Gebet” aare full album, I did a MiniLP “Pfaffenschwein” and also 2 Split CDs - one with the german “Eviscerated” and one with the Canadian “Pagan Flame”.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? I think there are lots of songs of “Leichenzug” on YouTube – but I didn’t publish them.

At what age did you start playing? I think I started playing instrument in the age of 12 or something like that.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? 17.

What year was the band started? 2002.

Best/worst gig you've played? We played not much gigs and there was no bad gig. Every gig was very good.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? I don’t know, it depends who will ask us for playin.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? I love the live performances of Inquisition!!

Is it always the same songs live? No, some songs will be changed after every gig.

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? No, and I guess we won t have, cause it takes too much time cause me and my live band has to work and all have families.

How big crowds do you usually play for? I depends on the concert. I think if we play alone there will be 150 people or more.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I ll try to release a new full album and maybe I ll re-record the first album again, cause its sold out and many people ask for it. But I don’t want to just repress it – I hate stuff like that.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? This really depends on my mood. Its quite different. Mostly I listen to older bands.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It’s the worst shit which could be created since the history of music. I hate that. Because of that misbehaving the music in general becomes more and more worthless and the artist wont be able to make a professional release with a good studio and good artwork cause the money for this isn’t there. 

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Black metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Neofolk…many kinds of music, except of Hip Hop, Techno and Rap!

Have you been part of any other projects? Yeah, I also play in the band Aeveron, its melodic Death metal, and I also played Drums on the actual Camulos album.

How important are your fans? The main thing is that I like my music – so the fans are on second place. I wont do anything what the fans would like but me not.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? “Winternachtskrieg” and “Infiziert”.

Do you have any webpages? No, I just have an official facebook page. Its www.facebook.com/officialLeichenzug.

Kommentera här: