interview with Messany Recordings

What´s the name of your band? Qomplainerz (formerly known as Nandoo Messany)

How was the band formed? I had several artist names in the past. Either there were too many similar people on youtube or it sounded strange on the radio. I think the new name is more suitable for the radios and it describes the genres I'm in Besides that it stands for quality since I don't hesitate to tell other producers "sorry, your song needs more work", so my friends said you're a complainer as a joke and the new name was born.

Can you tell about your band? Besides being a producer I am also a DJ and promoter.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? I am from Germany. Basically I do all work of an artist + self management under my own label.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I'm always happy to hear that my music helps other people to feel better and forget the stress of daily routines for a while.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? I'd say it's a mix between anything emotional, euphoric, relaxing melodies and background atmosphere in combination with hard danceable beats.

Where was your first gig? In the beginning I hels radio sessions on mixlr myself.

Where was the latest gig? Later I also played on New Trance Family radio.

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? I usually write the songs myself. If it's a collaboration another artist may add some of his ideas, though

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Qomplainerz, of course.

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? I also support other artists and labels on their long journey. The main genre is Trance, but sometimes I also make Hardstyle myself or I support Hardstyle labels.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? I guess these genres and styles describe what thousand images or words can't say. The songs are about love, happiness, freedom and joy.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I do remixes from time to time, but I usually write my own material.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? I don't really make albums. The Tears of Happiness episodes or the Messany Recordings Yearmix have the duration of an album, though.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? I have plenty. Feel free to visit my channel Messany Recordings 

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I am 25 years old. Music was some kind of escape into another world for me and it still is.

At what age did you start playing? I started playing when I was 13.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? Must have been 17 or 18.

What year was the band started?

Nandoo Messany started 2008.

Along with my label in 2011 I slowly started to release songs under my new alias Qomplainerz.

Best/worst gig you've played? The best gig was on New Trance family so far. I gained new fans, I connected with other artists and I just had a good time.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? In the near future I will play on Trance-Energy Radio.

Where have you played from then till now? Mixl, New Trance Family, Trance-Energy Radio

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? Armin van Buuren

Is it always the same songs live? Every show has a completely new tracklist.

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? The most promising gig will be on Trance-Energy Radio.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Up to 1500 people who tunes in on the radio itself + thousands who listen from streams or mobile apps.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I'll produce more songs, record more sets and try to make a name with all the new labels who recently added me to their promo lists.

Where do you usually play? I'll play on Trance-Energy Radio excusively.

How do you get psyched up for a gig? When I really like the tracks they make me feel good. Imaging that the tracks make other people feel good motivates me and I wanna play the beats really loud.

What are your goals with your music? I want to make music 24/7/52.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? Just a few months ago since I saved money for bigger promotion.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? That depends on each individual track.

What are your sources of inspiration? Other artists and my dear fans inspire me the most.

What's the first step when making a new song? I always make the melody first.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I don't worry about it too much since the real money comes from gigs anyways.

What would be your dreams for the band? Earning enough money to pay my bills so I don't need another job. That would allow me to focus on my music 24/7. 

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I also listen to Chill Out, some House, some Electro or something not even electronic. If the song is produced well and delivers a message or the melody and the beat touch me somehow I listen to almost everything.

What do you hold most dear? I'm a family guy.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? At the moment I worry about losing my job since it might be hard to find a new job.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? I worry that the crowd doesn't feel a track or that I fuck a transition.

What songs and what years were they released? Qomplainerz - Down To Love (2012)

Have you been part of any other projects? I tried several projects like Anti Nonsense Networking, Soundcloud opting in project etc.

Have you been in any other bands? No.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I'm a clerk at an industrial company.

What would you do if there was no music? I guess then I'd be bored to death or try to become a race driver.

How important are your fans? They are the key here. If I don't have fans nobody shares my music or buys the songs and it would be useless to make music unless I make it completely as a hobby only.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Some years ago a fan called me on skype to sing for my birthday.

How often do you rehearse? I practice daily.

Where do you rehearse? At home since electronic music is made 100% with computer software and peripheral hardware.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment?

1. In My Dreams

2. Down To Love

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen?

I adore Armin van Buuren

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? The idea to make other people feel good, the idea to be famous somewhere in future.

Do you have any webpages? I'm working on that. I am not happy with the results yet.

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? I know amateur bands don't want to hear it, since it doesn't seem to be very helpful, but believe in yourself, spread the word about your music and rehearse often is the key to success.

Describe your show, visually and musically It's a journey from relaxing sounds to euphoric melodies, heavy basses and angelic vocals.

How do you view the musicindurty of today? Without the internet bands who work with little to no budget like me would have zero chances to make it anywhere.

What advice would you like to give other bands? Believe in yourself, spread the word about your music and rehearse often is the key to success.

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? I didn't play in a club yet, so unfortunately I have no idea.

Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? Like I mentioned above, I'll play every 2nd Sunday of a month on Trance-Energy Radio at 3pm CET. What I noticed so far you seem to work with real bands in the pop/rock scene. The radio show will be a completely different journey for you. I hope to see you there.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence After all the styles and feelings mentioned above I still try to get an unique sound.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? Pioneer CDJ-2000, Avvess Virus TI2 Polar

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? That's the advantage when you work alone. There are no fights. When I collab with other artists, especially when a release on a label and/or support on radio shows is planned I have to meet deadlines and I am quite angry when the song isn't finished until then.

Whats your Pre-show ritual? I don't have a ritual. I just listen to the songs I want to play often to be prepared for the case the crowd doesn't seem to like a track I can switch to another track as soon as possible.

Do you have anything to add?

First of all, thanks for your interest.

I hope the questions help you to know more about me and my music
and I'm looking forward to seing you around.

I'd love to send you a signed autograph, but I don't have any autographs yet.

As soon as I talked to some graphic designers about the website, cover images etc. I'll also talk to them about a nice autograph.

Kommentera här: