interview with Alpha Boy

What´s the name of your band? Alpha Boy

How was the band formed? Under a christmas tree at christmas 1999 in front of a brand new PlayStation 1.

Can you tell about your band? The idea behind Alpha Boy is to get on live the best decade ever. The 1980s are a important partof my childhood and now also of my daily life. I get a lot of insperations for my authentic musicfrom movies, games, VHS, LaserDisc's, graphics and music.I am a one men band. That means I am my own composer, graphic guy, mastering engineer,manager, security guy,...! I love to do all these jobs. So it is never boring.

Where are all band members from? I am from Berlin Germany. This is my hometown. I was born in the middle 80s in east Berlin.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Authentic 80s instrumental: soundtrack, synthpop, funk and electro.

Where was your first gig? My real first gig I ever made was at the vernissage of my mom in 2011. She is an real talentedpainter and she is this year nominated for the „Germany's best painter 2014“ award.

Where was the latest gig? My last gig was at the StoryDrive of the Bookfair in Frankfurt.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? I am not sure but I love the dirty jokes of Eddie Murphy.

What are your songs about? With all my songs I will remember my self that it was so awesome to be a kid of the 80s. Becausethe TV, the music, the movies and a lot of other things where much better then today's, because atthis time they had much more class

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I compose only my own material. I would lie if I would say that I don't try to imitate sometimes theoriginals. But the resualts of my work are 80% my own style, 15% originals and 5% my family andfriends. And by the way a hugh thanks to my wife, my son, my family, my friends and my fans for thehugh support and inspeartion all over the past time.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Over the past 9 years I produced more then 10 albums. The last one is „Beverly Hills“.It was supported at the time of production by Harold Faltermeyer (composer of Beverly Hills Cop 1-2, Top Gun, Running Man,...).You can listen to whole album here:http://alphaboymusic.bandcamp.com/

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yes, and I am happy to say this now. Because over the past years I never really used youtube butnow I am on good way to be a good youtuber.

How old are you? I am 29 years old.

At what age did you start playing?My parents tried that I learn piano and violine but this never really worked. So, at the ago of 14 Igot from my dad this awesome machine called “ PlayStation 1” and the music software “Music2000”. And that was my initial ignition .

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? It was not a gig of my music. But my first gig on stage was in my school time and I was 12 yearsold. I made a magic show for my whole school.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? Sorry but I need to list more than one:Harold Faltermeyer, Boy Meets Girl, Jan Hammer, Stu Phillips and my good friend Jürgen Ecke.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? My plan for this year is to finish the most of the projects where I work on it or collab.

What are your goals with your music? To get a live the best decade ever.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? 3 years ago. At this time I got my first big contracts for profesional productions in the movie, TV,game and commercial business.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Definitly from older bands. How I said “...much more class”.

What are your sources of inspiration? To life this never ending 80s dream.

What's the first step when making a new song? It's important for me to make a long break between the next composing.I try to get a lot of input by movies, music and all other things. But my best way to get insperation is

this: http://www.my80stv.com/

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I think it's a question of which generation you are. I was growing up with vinyl, tapes and CDs. But

the new generation don't need this any more. And one important fact is that it is much better for our

earth that we don't have to produce so many physically music.

But, I will never miss to hold my fav. albums in my own hands in form of a tape, vinyl or CD.

What do you hold most dear? My wife and my son.

Have you been part of any other projects? My first artist name and project was “Xibalba”. It where my first steps into authentic 80s music.But it was a to much difficult name for my first fans. So I decided to change my name to “AlphaBoy” and to make a new start.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? To be a composer and producer is my real job. It's a 24/7.

What would you do if there was no music? I would not exist.

How important are your fans? To have the best fans of the world is for me as an artist an true honor. It is so complicated in our

time to show a younger generation this genre of music and about that I am every time so surprised

that they enjoy my music. My fans give me the power to work hard on my own stuff.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? 1 year ago I got an very funny email of an fan and he wrote to me that he is a hugh fan of my music.And his last sentence was:“Please Alpha Boy, I want to make music like you. Tell me all your secrets of making music, that I

can do it too.”

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Rich and Axel Foley.

Do you have any webpages?

http://alphaboymusic.bandcamp.com/

http://alphaboymusic.tumblr.com/

https://www.facebook.com/alphaboy.music

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Do what you love.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? Yamaha DX7

Do you have anything to add? Thank you Robex for the interessting questions. And I wish everyone soon a wunderful Christmas and a happy new year.

Kommentera här: