Interview with James D. Gilmore

What*s the name of your band? James D. Gilmore ( solo artist)
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? In an word Shred!
Where was your first gig? My first gig was in my hometown, Mason Ohio, in 1979.
Where was the latest gig? My last official concert was in Dayton Ohio, in 2012.
What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? The genre is Progressive Metal Guitar, commonly referred to as Shred.
Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? Looking back on it, I don't think I consciously chose any particular style over another. I guess it chose me. I was just looking for something without boundaries, or limitations. All styles of music, and all playing techniques can work well with what I do. Classical, country, jazz, blues* All of them work well with my style. I don't know of any other style of music that will let you get away with that.
Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Originals!
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Here's a list of my solo releases- http://jamesdgilmore.webs.com/discography.htm
Do you have any clips on YouTube?
Yes, & you can view most of them on my website here-
http://jamesdgilmore.webs.com/video.htm
And on You Tube, you can also find videos I've produced for other artist as well, such as Chastain, and Eric Johns. I've also shot video for artist like Michael Harris, Joe Stump, Montage, and Arch Rival.
How old are you?/What got you started in music? I've been playing guitar for 38 years, and like a lot of players who started in the 70s, Ace Frehley was the guitarist who started it all for me, and a whole generation of players.
At what age did you start playing? I started playing when I was 10 years old.
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? I played my first professional gig at 13, in 1979.
What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? For the immediate future I'm locked down in the studio putting together an EP, and a new instructional DVD. Also, I'll be producing some promotional videos.
Witch band is the best you*ve seen? The best live band I've ever seen has to be the original lineup of Kiss. The reunion tour, and the farewell tour were both incredible!
What has been the best/most promising gig so far? Almost too many to mention, but the Virtuosity concert in Dayton a few years ago, with Michael Harris and Joe Stump that was filmed for TV was a blast! Fans can view a clip of the three of us jamming some Hendrix together at the end of the night on my website * http://jamesdgilmore.webs.com/
What are the plans for the rest of the year? I'll be doing studio work for the rest of the year, but early next year I'll be doing some guitar clinics to promote the new DVD.
How do you get psyched up for a gig? Three things * practice, practice, practice!
What are your goals with your music? I've already met most of my goals, so I just want to keep doing what I'm doing! My goals were always very simple, to have a career in music and to be happy. Mission accomplished! Everything else I do from this point on is just an added bonus!
When did you decide to go all in for the music?  I knew I wanted music to be my career since I was about 12 years old.
What are your sources of inspiration? All great music inspires me! In fact, a great many things in life in general can inspire me.
What's the first step when making a new song? Usually a new song starts off with just jamming around. I always keep a small digital recorder handy, just in case I come up with an interesting riff. Most of my material is instrumentals, but I write music with vocals as well, and having a digital field recorder always on hand is a great way to capture when inspiration hits.
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? Downloading is fine with me as long as it's legal. I've bought a ton of downloads from Amazon myself. Illegal downloads however, is a different story. I've seen firsthand how it can devastate a promising bands career. It's really sad to see extremely talented artist who have to give up their dream, to find some other way to keep a roof over their head, food on the table, and take care of their families.My philosophy is simple and to the point* If you like the music, Buy It!
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I like lots of stuff, except for rap, techno, and opera. If it's a live show, there has to be a band on stage, and not just a DJ and some background dancers! The so-called artist who do those kinds of shows are just a big joke to me.
What do you hold most dear? Family!
What would be your greatest fears for the future? Probably the continued devaluation of music made by talented artist who can no longer afford to share their gift with the world. But that's completely up to the fans. They have to support the artist that they like, or they'll just be stuck with the new Clay Aiken release. What a dismal future that would be!
When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Nothing! I feel invincible on stage. Probably because I've been performing since 1979! LOL!
What songs and what years were they released? I've released about 50 solo tracks since 1992. They are all currently available worldwide at CD baby, iTunes, Rhapsody, etc. The release dates are many, but are listed along with the CD and track information.
Have you been in any other bands? Over the years I think I've played in at least 10 bands.
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Probably my favorite hobby is videography. I have shot, published, and edited video for music videos for other artist, promo clips, and online commercials for small business.
How important are your fans? They are everything!! I don't think it's possible to overstate that!
Where do you rehearse? Since I'm a solo artist, and I'm currently just rehearsing with backing tracks, I practice at home. These days I'm digging the Yamaha THR 10 Amp for practice. It has a really great guitar tone, and allows me to run my backing tracks through the same speakers as my axe.
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Aggressive Maneuvers, and Bloodlust. These are two tracks that I'm still working on and haven't been released yet!
What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? First of all, if fame is your goal, then you're playing music for the wrong reason! Playing guitar isn't what I do, it's what I am. The goal should be to become the best musician you can possibly be, and then maybe someone will notice. I consider myself very fortunate in that respect! Although I've never had a platinum album or won a Grammy, my albums have been sold in over 120 countries since the 90s! And the last I heard, they are now available in over 200 countries!!
Do you have any webpages? Here's a link to the"links" page on my website * http://jamesdgilmore.webs.com/apps/links/
How do you view the musicindurty of today? The industry has become like the wild West. There are a lot of labels and artist who are trying to discover the best ways to not just survive, but thrive in this new era. What used to work 20 years ago, doesn't cut it today. It's a whole new ballgame.
What advice would you like to give other bands? Learn all that you can! There is a wealth of information* From e-books, PDFs, blogs, etc.
What are the biggest obstacles for a band? A lack of information! As previously mentioned, educate yourselves!
What is best/worst with playing the clubs? Many of the clubs here in the Midwest have either shut down, or are struggling to keep the lights on. A few years ago the people who don't go to clubs or smoke decided to outlaw smoking for all the people who do. It's made it much more difficult for bands to draw a good crowd, or even find a gig to play.
Whats your Pre-show ritual? When I can, I like to practice the day of the show in several short burst. Just 10 to 20 min. at a time. It's a great way to get hands warmed up!
Do you have anything to add?Just that if you truly love music, play all that you can, learn all you can, and hopefully someone will notice and good things will happen for you. But if your main goal is money and fame, save yourself the trouble and just become a rapper, or date a celebrity! Little to no talent is necessary, and it's a far easier way to achieve your goals.

Kommentera här: