interview with URUK-HAI

What made you to  be baptized to just "URUK-HAI"? Alex: All started  back in 1999 with a HROSSHARSGRANI Tape called „Uruk-hai“, only 6 copies where  made for good friends of mine, this friends told me after listen to that tape  that they like it very much so I decieded to start a new project doing this kind  of „Battle Ambient“ under the name of URUK-HAI. First I decieded to do music  only regarding Tolkiens world but later in 2004 I lost a bit the fascination  about it and I started to create Nordic mythology influenced music and also I  created a concept album about the ancient Inka culture in South America. But  Tolkien Hailz, the fascination about the wonderful world of Tolkiens books comes  back to me stronger than ever. The ideology of URUK-HAI I only can say I try to  create a soundtrack to Tolkiens world as goood as possible. Hmmm what you never  heard before, I always mix sounds from old URUK-HAI tracks with new ones to  create something os a concept through all the releases I´ve ever done... 

What is alloy  band name? Alex: URUK-HAI is a  race in Tolkiens Lord Of The Rings, I decieded to take this as a band name  because I thought it fits best with the Middle-Earth Music I try to  create.

Who came up with  the band name? Alex: it was me  because it´s a one-man-Project.

Have you toured any over the years? Alex: All of my  projects are studio projects only – I do not play live!
What is  your name? Alex: My name is  Alexander „Hugin“ Wieser

Who plays  what?

Alex: I do everything  by myself but I use to have great guest musicians as the are:

Joe Matera (ex  Geisha), Tony Dolan (M:Pire Of Evil, ex Venom), Janos Krusenbaum (Seeking  Raven), Trevor Sewell (ex Venom, ex Tygers Of Pan Tang), Pr.Sergiy (Moloch),  Bart Piette (Dead Man´s Hill),....

How old are  you? Alex: I´mm 44 years old.
What do you play music style? Alex: I call the  music of URUK-HAI Fantasy Ambient Metal

Why do you play  at "Fantasy Ambient Metal"? Alex: I love to  create a fantasy-soundtrack like atmosphere in my music.

Do you write your  own songs or covers? Alex: I write my own  songs but I did some covers in the past too!

Who writes the  songs? Alex: I write all the  songs by myself.

Who does the  music? Alex: I also do all  the music by myself and as I told you I use to have great guest musicians  too!

What do you  usually have for themes? Alex: all my music is  Fantasy based!

What you get  insperation from? Alex: The most  inspiration I get from The Lord Of The Rings and The Silmarillon books from  J.R.R. Tolkien!

What are your  role models / Idols? Alex: hmmm lets say  my Idols in music are Summoning, Ringbearer, Bathory, Howard Shore and Valar

What was the first record? The  first Demo back in 1999 was called “In Durins Halls” and the first album back in  2004 was called “A Night In The Forest”

What hetero latest album? Alex:  My last album was called “...And All The Magic & Might He  Brought..”

What was the first record on? Alex:  The first album was released at Drama Company in Spain, the first Demo was  released at W.A.R. Productions in Austria

What act last album  about?Alex:  The last album act about some different places in Middle-Earth, it is not a  concept album each song tells a different story or a different part of Tolkiens  world! Its not a typical URUK-HAI album this time – it´s more mature in my  oppinion, because the wholke recordings to that album took me close to 2  years!

Kommentera här: