interview with Universal Theory

Played in other bands? Hello! It is a big pleasure to be here today. Yes, I have played different kinds of music in other bands for many years.

How is it that you started playing music? From a very young age I have loved Music, especially, Rock-Metal Music. It takes me to a different state of consciousness.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Jesus Pinilla; Guitars, Programming, Male Vocals, 37 years old. Majo Martos; Female Vocals, 34 years old.

Have you had other previous members? We continue with the same line-up.

Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, since I was very young I´ve been making music.

Where are you from? We are from Madrid, Spain.

What year did the band form? At the end of 2011.

What's your style of genre? Mainly Gothic Rock Metal but we also play atmospheric, dark, ambient, progressive.

What inspires you? The emotions of life. These Include Experiences, Desires, Thoughts, Dreams and more.

How often and where do you reherse? At the moment Universal Theory is still a studio project but everyday I am working on and rehearsing each song and each new idea.

How have you developed since you started with the music?

Here the answer if you refer to myself: I started playing Guitar when I was 14 years old. I learned guitar in a music school in Madrid for many years. Also there I learned Language, Harmony and Singing. Finally I´ve studied Piano for a few years in a Cultural Centre.

Here the answer if you refer to Universal Theory:

Universal Theory is a musical studio project (for now) created

at the end of 2011 and is based on one idea: “The Pleasure of Searching”

Universal Theory Music "Atmospheric-Gothic-Rock & Metal with dark passages" is

composed from lyrics inspired by personal experiences and thoughts and

where any reason, idea, or style is welcome.

I found Majo José a few months before I started to record the first songs.

and now we have working together for four years.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Here the answer if you refer to myself:

Yes, I love Science, especially Physics. I love reading science books. Also I like TV series like "The Walking Dead", "24" and more Films & Videogames. Animal Lover.

Here the answer if you refer to other projects:

Not for now.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I think that both are necessaries. Fortunately We have a Label, an indepent label from Minnesota, US (Metal Hell Records). They have released our two albums "Mystery Timeline" (2013) & "The Most Attractive Force" (2015) and It would have not been possible without them, CDs, Promotion, Support, etc...

What made you decide to make this music? As I mentioned earlier It takes me to a different state of consciousness.

What are your songs about? As I said before The Emotions of Life. Each song tells a story, a thought, desires, fantasies, one day or one experience in my life and I try to transmit it through the lyrics.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? All the lyrics are written by Jesús Pinilla so far.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Both, depending on the circumstances.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? No, anywhere is good. I am continually thinking about it, at night, before I sleep, while I am going to my regular job...

Have you done any covers live? Not yet. Only in a practice room.

What language do you sing in? In English because I love how it sounds.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Through Metal Hell Records Website in 2013. At the moment we have our 2 Albums "Mystery Timeline" And "The Most Attractive Force" CDs on sale there.

Where can people buy your merchandise? On the Metal Hell Records Website. www.metalhellrecs.com/universaltheory

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? This has its good and bad points. The advantage is that people can hear your music and decide whether they like it or not. The disadvantage is if they like your music and they don´t support you. I think that if you like music, film or series they need your support.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Yes, the music industry has changed. we have to adapt to the new times.

What do you think of my work? It is really great. You have many fantastic questions.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Yes, people can read about you, people can get to know you better.

Do you have any role models or idols? When I was young Max Cavalera from Sepultura. Now I love Machine Head, Anathema and Pat Metheny.

Why do you think that they exist? They motivate and inspire people.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both. Everyone is learning from everyone else.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Making this kind of music in Spain and recording. It has been a lot of hard work and many long hours on top of your regular job, family, friends, etc... This is a complex and delicate task.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Nothing in particular, just work hard and feel and believe in what you do.

How do you get psyched for a gig? it's just something that you must enjoy.

Do you have any new material? Recently we have released "The Most Attractive Force".

What are your web sites?

Our website is www.universaltheorymusic.com

Store www.metalhellrecs.com/universaltheory

How can people reach you?

Visit our accounts on the main social neworks. www.facebook.com/universaltheory www.youtube.com/myuniversaltheory www.twitter.com/universaltheory

What are your plans for the future? We will continue promoting the new album & who knows...

Do you have something to add?

It has been a great pleasure talking to you Enjoy Universal Theory & visit us and support us here: www.universaltheorymusic.com www.facebook.com/universaltheory You can listen to "Mystery Timeline" and "The Most Attractive Force" In Full Here: http://metalhellrecords.bandcamp.com/album/mystery-timeline http://metalhellrecords.bandcamp.com/album/the-most-attractive-force Support us by getting our CDs Here: www.metalhellrecs.com/universaltheory

Kommentera här: