interview with Nagaarum

What´s the name of your band? Nagaarum, as me.

Can you tell something about your band? This solo project was established in 2008. When we released our first album with my other band GuilThee, I felt that I hadn't issued some of my musical themes I wanted. So I started write musics on my own too.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? There is no preferred musical styles for me. I like a lot of bands from all the pallette. So I'm not thinking about the genre categories when I'm composing my themes. It is a big free flight...

Where was your first gig? I don't perform live shows.

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? In the project Nagaarum I do everithing. All the themes from myself, and plays the instruments, vocals, album artwork etc...

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? My main influences are the nature, space, science, religions... I am a religious man, I can't believe that the trillion wonders what embrace us could came about from the nix. The science try to build a lot of frames to explain how the world works. These are good subjects for an album...

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I had never wrote covers. I will have never wrote covers.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Yes, I released eleven albums in three-four years. Two of them were issued by the Russian label GS productions (Kuiper split with an other Hungarian one-man project Dreams After Death, and my last album Rabies Lyssa).

Do you have any clips on YouTube? I made three clips so far. My first work was the Póküreg clip (póküreg means spider-hole in Hungarian). The idea was shot out from my mind and one day later the video was out on the YouTube. Afther that I worked hard on my second video for the rmWdtk track. This song tells a story about a man who live a sterilized world with citizens who have no brain. He is the only man who can re-use his mind, and when he recognize what happened commits suicide. And when I wrote my Lombotomia album, I decided that I would make a longer production... The video for Madarak a dolgozószobám párkányán suite (Birds on my work-room window sill) was bornt in the end of 2012.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wC6j6shHNyQ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFeEuhbcK7s http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V__-MxKCGa0

These clips are raw, unpolished performances, and this is so perfect.

At what age did you start playing? I was 19 when I started to play the drums. And six years ago I decided I try to handle the guitars, bass and the manipulating songs by VSTi synthesizers.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? I am not really interested in concerts... In Hungary there isn't too vigorous scene for metal bands... The organizers of the festivals preferred the mainstream bands who can do big shows and party mood. And the little clubs are dying.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I'm going to rest.

What are your goals with your music? Entertain myself... and some other person who are sensitive to this kind of psychedelia...

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I haven't got any standpoint in this context... I like the 70's music and I like 90's as well... But some of my favourites are from the contemporary bands.

What's the first step when making a new song? I start to compose on the synthesizers as usuall. It's simpliest than everything method.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I welcome this phenomenon. This thing helps the unknown projects like mine. I can spread my works to the audience easier.

What would be your dreams for the band? I stand on my feets, I have no dreams really. You know... in my country is a weird place where the cances are cutted by the main and only metal magazine Hammerworld if you are not one of their favored money-maker bands.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? I have no fears...

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes. I am the only founder member of the eclectic metal band GuilThee. This band released four albums untill now. And I have an another project called In Vacuo. We are a two-man project. Emp - the another member of In Vacuo - is one of my good friends and one of my editor mates on the Fémforgács Metal Site (www.femforgacs.hu).

What would you do if there was no Music? I have a lot of hobbies...

How often do you rehearse? Never. I write all my albums without any rehearsals. I have a little studio in my room, so I can record all the sounds which fly out my instruments.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Uhhh... It's impossible.

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Pink Floyd in the Live at Pompeii film.

Do you have any webpages? Yes, and thank you for this question! You can find my webpage at the www.nagaarum.com address. You can download all of my albums free there. And I have Bandcamp, Facebook, YouTube page too. There are all the links on the www.nagaarum.com.

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? I am not a wizard.

How do you view the music industry of today? It is a big business... was in the past. Nowadays I would tell the "crumbling castle" phrase about it rather.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? The music industry.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence! Dark, psychedelic, eclectic music. Thank you for the chance for this interview! And thank you for you help the underground!

Kommentera här: