interview with Dark Recollections

Have any of you played in other bands? Anthony played in an English new wave band  called Veil of Isis. Andy and I played in a couple of bands as well, mostly metal bands.
How is it that you started playing music? I can only speak for myself, I started playing music because I liked so much the music I was listening to, and wanted to be part of the game. And to gather girls, too. But playing death metal in an underground band is not a good way to attract females ;-) 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Anthony, vocals; Andy, guitar; Frank (myself), bass guitar and programming. Anthony is 47 yrs old, I am 41 and Andy is 38. 
Have you had other previous members? Nope. I started the project and choose all members.
Did you make music even when you were young? I started writing lyrics in my teens, I imagined being in a band, releasing records, being interviewed. Then I started playing drums at 18 and bass at 22, playing in bands, writing songs and finally self-releasing actual recordings. It all came true, even if on an underground and DIY level.
Where are you from? Italy, even if Anthony is actually from England.
What year did the band form? I started the project in 2008, but it took years to get the songs done.
What's your style of genre? Dark Recollections plays dark rock with a touch of wave and goth.
What inspires you? Everything sounding dark with an ‘80s atmosphere.
How often and where do you reherse? Never, unfortunately we’re just a project band right now.
How have you developed since you started with the music? I guess no, my musical vision about Dark Recollections is the same and I see no reason to change.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I’d like to work with a label. I’d be motivated to write new songs and release a full-length. I’m definitely open to this idea.
What made you decide to make this music? I was looking for a music where bass guitar is not buried in the mix. A music not based upon “guitar riffs”. Most of new wave and dark goth music from the 80’s has this sound. I wanted to re-create it in the 2000s.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I wrote all music, but Andy added his guitars without any input, and Anthony came up with vocal melodies, therefore I’d say we all wrote songs. A friend of us, Davide Montoro, wrote lyrics, Anthony suited and edited them. I have a couple of lyrics and music, too, to be eventually used for future releases. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I usually start with basslines, and rarely with a keyboard melody, then I build a skeleton of the song using a drum machine. My guitarist is free to came up with every idea he wants. Lyrics are written first then edited to suit vocal lines. For our first three songs, I recorded a demo with my voice, but Anthony came up with 95% of vocal melodies.  
Where can people buy your merchandise?  Our three songs EP “Enigma of the absolute” has been released on digital format only, and it’s available here: http://www.mortalfungus.com/webstore.htm
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think that the magic is gone since vinyls disappeared.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Music industry has always ripped artists off. Since there’s not much money left to gain in this area, vampires have moved to greener pastures. Perhaps this will motivate artists to come up with something new, or old.
What do you think of my work? I like everybody being genuinely interested in music and art in general, from creation to promotion. Therefore, I like you, too.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? This is my first interview in ages, I’m not a good promoter of myself, I didn’t made physical copies, just released our three songs on the internet. I hope this interview will help in a way or another.
Do you have any role models or idols? I admire a lot of artists coming from the metal scene. But Dark Recollections isn’t associated with it, therefore I have to say that Dave Gahan is one of my “new wave” idols. That guy can sing everything! Speaking of bassists, I like David J from Bauhaus and Simon Gallup from The Cure.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Unfortunately, all music I listen to comes from the 80’s and 90’s, even a bit of 70’s. I can’t find anything really interesting today, apart from certain songs from The Editors, and White Lies. I love White Lies first and second albums.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Being idle. Not being very good in promoting or selling myself. I lack of self confidence, I think.
Do you have any new material? I started gathering ideas years ago. I have some titles, some lyrics, some melodies, bass lines. But motivation is hard to be find nowadays…
What are your web sites? 
www.mortalfungus.com
www.facebook.com/darkrecollections
www.facebook.com/gentlexhumingrecords
www.youtube.com/user/mortalwells
How can people reach you? You can visit my website, like us on Facebook, listen to our songs on YouTube. 
What are your plans for the future? Survive another day.
Do you have something to add? Thanks for your interview, maybe it will give me the spark to resume working on other music…maybe.

Kommentera här: