interview with ANDREA MANCA

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, I played in several bands, about ten, all important for my artistic career.

How is it that you started playing music? at 7 years old I found an old guitar of my father and I was literally struck by this instrument .. and from that moment it all started

What are your names?

My name is Andrea Manca ... but all my friends call me Uncle Steve (I'm presuming for the influence that Steve Vai had on me)

age does not count .. it counts to be.

Did you make music even when you were young? my first band was created when I was 11 years old

Where are you from? I am Italian and I live in the north coast of Sardinia, the big island in the middle of the Mediterranean, but I consider myself a cosmopolitan

What's your style of genre? Mainly I am a rock guitarist, but being a session musician I play every kind of music from pop to classical

What inspires you? It's hard to explain, but every song I compose has its own genesis, everything that surrounds me inspires me, the emotions of the moment inspire me, the mood inspires me, the situations that arise from time to time and envelop me .

How often and where do you reherse? Every day and at any time is good for making music, it is essential to have passion, there are days that we meet with old friends in some local to make memorable sessions, other days in a state of nirvana, I prefer to be alone interacting with my guitar.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I'm looking for the right project, someone who believes in my music.I do not like all these reality ... let's say I'm .. "an old school .."

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? myself

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music first.

Have you done any covers live? Of course.

What language do you sing in? Any languge, english, italian, slang, spanish.....

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? it depends on the context

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No.

What was your first gig like? I do not remember ... maybe it was a party in my city.

What was your latest gig? July 14th

Have you had to cancel a gig? Sometimes

Where have you played live this year? around Italy

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? times change .. but it's always nice to have vinyls

What do you think of my work? I think you're doing a good job, all those interviews .. crazy, then, when a person puts passion and dedication there are no boundaries ... but only opportunities

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? opportunities often happen ... it's up to us to capitalize them to the maximum

Do you have any role models or idols? I am inspired by all the great chittarians of history from the legendary B.B.King to Jimi Page from Yngwie Malmsteen to Andrés Segovia. each of them has indelibly conditioned me .... even if in a particular way I have a weakness for Steve Vai

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think the old school remains the best

What advice would you give other bands or artists? never give up

Do you have any new material? Yes, I'm finishing the recordings of my last album

What are your web sites? www.andreamanca.com

Kommentera här: