interview with Frankistadors

Have any of you played in other bands?

Franka Lo-Ré played in a band in Marseille COPS & ROBBERS from 77 to 81 and from 81 to 95 with different musicians, from 81 to 95 , who only engineered on some tracks (musicians of Shakin Street and Farid Méjane (ex-Trust))

Farida Tadjène played with the bands, HAREM, featuring the international guitarist Mahamad HAADI (Sapho, Velvet Underground) and the singer ROE (world tours and first parts of David Bowie, Tears for Fears, Bob Geldoff). ZACK PRATHERS (drummer of Luther Allison et Screamin Jay Hawkins) JANICE DE ROSA, RANDI RARE (guitarist of John Mayall and John Lee Hooker) and BYRON HOMES, WOMEN’VOICE, FATON COHEN (1st pianist of Magma) CHRISTINE LIDON / LES BLONDES /Henry PADOVANI (1st guitarist of Police )

Laurent Peters 1st band "GAP","Empty world", the "Beeftoads" ("Happy go", "Hairy monster",...), the "Spits" ("Regarde au loin ) « Andrew H », « MC Gouillard et son Lolo, Sally, GO ! », « Dean C ».

Wilfrid Warmel played in Soul Whisky Club (from Evreux/27), PPH experience

How is it that you started playing music?

Franka Lo-Ré / started in the college I was ten when I started to study classic music and vocals with Mme Farré-Fizzio et then be part of her chord “The Maitrise Gabriel Fauré” (gigs in Provence,Russie, Paris…, and act and sing in the big Operas…) in Marseille

I study also one year classic vocals in the conservatory of Grenoble (38) and succeed to the exam…

I started to play piano at the same time and… guitar when I was nineteen when I met Henri Padovani ex-Police

But I’m a kind of self-taught on guitar, just played with several of famous one…

Wilfrid Warmel started playing guitar in 93 with some friends who playing around

Farida Tadjène Looking at my grandma in Kabylie/Algeria, she was often playing percussions by singing

Laurent Peters My grand parents had a dance orchestra. My grandma showed me the piano. Later my brother had guitar lessons and I started to pick his guitar.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

Franka Lo-Ré (Singer, Guitar)

Farida Tadjène (Batterie, backing vocals)

Laurent Peters (Guitare, backing vocals)

Wilfrid Warmel (Bass)

We are all over 40

Have you had other previous members? The main and best one was Mickey Finn† (Ex Heavy Metals Kids, Humble Pie, Nino Ferrer, Higelin...), but also Alain Merlin (Ex Thiephaine),Patrick Lemarchand (ex Parabellum, Les Tontons Flingeurs, LSD...)

Did you make music even when you were young?

Franka Lo-Ré In the college I was ten when I started to study classic music and vocals

Farida Tadjène Music has always be a part of my life, there were always at home

Laurent Peters started playing guitar at 10 with tabs and finally by ear.

Wilfrid Warmel At 19 with a guitar

Where are you from?

Franka Lo-Ré I was born in Moutiers/Savoy/73000 in the Alps and I came in Marseille at 7

Laurent Peters was Born in Metz/Moselle/57000

Wilfrid Warmel was born in Evreux/Eure/27000

Farida Tadjène was born in Paris/75014

What year did the band form? 2008

What's your style of genre? Absolutely Rock

What inspires you?

Franka Lo-Ré Rolling Stones The Doors Led Zeppelin The Jam Bob Marley ZZ Top...

Farida Tadjène All genres inspire me, this is a mandatory passage for a musician

Laurent Peters Songs composition is very interesting.

Wilfrid Warmel Music I discovered over my life and my encounters (soul, house, funk,rock…)

How often and where do you reherse? 1 time a week to Mains d’Oeuvres / St Ouen a cultural place in the suburb of Paris

How have you developed since you started with the music? Franka Since the beginning I started to compose and despite the pitfalls I continue with the same fervor and energy

Farida Tadjène I developed a lot playing on stage It allowed me to adapt fairly quickly with many different musical styles

Laurent Peters I look for simple and original patterns. And lively guitar playing. It is very important to stick to the beat.

Wilfrid Warmel I use to work in parallel as a Dj or on electronic sequencer

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Franka Lo-Ré I’m president of an association and organize gigs for other bands

Wilfrid Warmel is intermittent of the shows in the evenementiel (Paris/France)

Laurent Peters is Computer project Manager

Farida Tadjène is day school supervisor

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?

Franka It start to be a kind of dream as I manage the band by myself since his creation and it’s a hard taf

It’s not easy to find a booker in Paris/France

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Franka I could work with a label if they doesn’t want to change my music and if they help me with money

What made you decide to make this music? Franka I was seventeen when I met Marc Zermati the godfather of punk music !

What are your songs about? Franka Love, life, human being, feelings, children, sex

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?

Franka Most of the songs are my own composition

The guitarists with who I played help me some times to finish a song

Laurent Peters started to compose with me on some songs…

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Depends

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Not especially I compose words or music in different places (most of the time in my house…) but often inspiration comes by surprise ! outside !

Have you done any covers live? Yes…! A lot… (American Girl / Tom Petty, ZZ Top / Tush, Jumpin’ Jack Flash / Stones…)

What language do you sing in? English- French- one song in Spanish

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Between 20 and 300

What ages are most of your concert attendants? From 7 to 70

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We vary

Do you have a regular place you play live often? La Cave Café 75018 Paris

What was your latest gig? The Quartier General Paris 75011

Where have you played live this year?

Ven 6 Avr Le QG 75011 Paris

Sam 24 Mars L'Omadis 75018 Paris

Sam 17 Fév Le Mojito's & More 93100 Montreuil

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Marseille / Montreuil / Normandie / Paris…etc

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?

When the cd “Une envie folle” went out (1000 + 500 /it stays 200)

T-shirts after playing in the Radazic/Les Ulis

Where can people buy your merchandise?

On the platteforms on the internet

(by instance)

https://www.amazon.fr/Une-Envie-Folle-Explicit-Frankistadors/dp/B00AUMD1CM/ref=sr_1_1?s=dmusic&ie=UTF8&qid=1527260924&sr=1-1-mp3-albums-bar-strip-0&keywords=Frankistadors+%2F+Une+envie+folle

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I am confronted to different things like this one and think I can’t change it

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It’s just the world who changes a lot

What do you think of my work? Not easy to answer all the questions (and some doubles…) but it’s interesting

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?

It’s first a good training ! Each review help an artist (in his bio by instance) or on

the website

Do you have any role models or idols? The Rolling Stones The Clash Iggy Pop Jefferson Airplane…etc

Why do you think that they exist? It’s just a mixture at the right time of talent, chance, opportunities…

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? My inspiration come from the past… (bands like Roxy Music or Santana or The New York Dolls or Doctor Feelgood !...etc)

What have been your biggest obstacles? The lack of financial means

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Be courageous and work hard !

How do you get psyched for a gig? I concentrate to remember the set list, the words and recercler my energy

Do you have any new material?

Audio interface / Focus Rite saphir pro 24

Mixing table / Yamaha 01V96I last generation

What are your web sites? http://www.frankistadors.fr

How can people reach you? By the website, by google, by facebook, by mail, by phone

What are your plans for the future? Become a part of the French or international scene in the music industry

Do you have something to add? We are actually doing the mix/mastering of 9 new songs who will go out soon !

Kommentera här: