interview with Grape Kelly

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, several bands until now, in powerpop and neometal styles for me. We played with Alban and Raphael in a group of neometal which was called “Tell no One” I used to play and sing with friends for pleasure, but Grape Kelly is the first serious band I sing with
How is it that you started playing music? With friends of mine at school. I was always fascinated by music. Being a child, I sang in several choirs. so when I was ten years old, my mother offered me my first guitar. In a musical school, then at home, learning by myself
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I’m Alban, 39, Drums Guillaume (AKA Guizmo), 31, guitar and back vocals Pierre-Alex, 39, vocals
Have you had other previous members? No
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, Since my 13 y old in different bands until now I play the guitar since I am eleven years old I start playing when I was 8 years old
Where are you from? North of France, Lille North of France, Lille North of France, Lille
What year did the band form? 2017
What's your style of genre? Hard to say.. Rock with Punk and Pop energies. I would say that the style oscillates between alternative rock and punk rock
What inspires you? Music that touches me in every styles I listen a great deal of rock band which inspire me by the energy. For the melodic composition I like being inspired by musics more distant as jazz gipsy or light music. Musically, I’m often touched and inspired by the lyricism of melodies. But I do love the power of rock music. And for the lyrics, I need to write about themes that touch me and cause strong emotions in me
How often and where do you reherse? 1, 2 times a week
How have you developed since you started with the music? Since I play the guitar, I played in several styles. Funk, reggae, jazz, metal, folk song. I try today to compile all these influences in my music, even if it is a mess sometimes.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? We all have our own jobs, music is a passion A Lot! But mainly the graphic design and the cinema.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Not really. At the moment we concentrate on the compositions and lives
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? same answer. We are a young band. Today we make all by ourself. Its long and sometime difficult but we can do everything we want.
What made you decide to make this music? In our older group, we had many sound effects. When we began grape kelly, we wanted to return to something simpler, with more energy. The rest came little by little Music has been a real passion for many years now, so there is not something that decide us, we just have pleasure to meet each other to create the best songs we can !
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Most often with guitars riffs and then lyrics and rhythm instrus
Do you compose in a certain environment? Yes, the best of the world : our rehearse local ☺ I compose at my home. Before I used my telephone to record but now I use a sequencer and headphones (for the happiness of my neighbors)
Have you done any covers live? Not for the moment but we work on it What language do you sing in? In english
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? / What ages are most of your concert attendants? Between 7 and 97 yold Between 25 and 40 year old
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We are a young band (1 year of activity) so we play all our songs
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Not really, we play everywhere we can in clubs, radio shows and other outdoor events..
What was your first gig like? A real good one, we were ready and it was for children of a children’s home. It was great actually! With good feedbacks.We were invited by an association to play the opening of an event in a children's house
What was your latest gig? In a festival called “Fachement Rock” in North of France. It is a very cool festival. We were lucky to play on this great stage. it is not often for a young band to play on those professionals conditions.
Have you had to cancel a gig? Not for the moment
Where have you played live this year? Exclusively in North of France and Belgium
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Everywhere we can and are accepted ! Whole France and Europe would be great !
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We still have no Merch at the moment
Where can people buy your merchandise? /  What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Our way of consuming music changed. Internet allows this access to the culture unlimited and I think it’s not necessary to limit it. I understands that certain artists are disgusted because they work hard. But I think major companies are the real problem. Furthermore, I think that there will be always fans who will fill their shelves with CD or vinyl
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Access in the music also comes along with the ease to produce some music.I think these two factors( are going to make major companies die. You can see it in France, especially with the new rap bands. Today they almost all self produce.
What do you think of my work? Thanks to you, bands can be known in other countries so it’s great ! We need people like you so Thank you ! It’s very cool! I’m a big fan of the Pink Panther design
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? It’s always a good point to be interviewed because it’s the only way to be known by people who never heard about us. I don‘t know. I don't even know if I want to make of our music a business. But it is always stimulating to be able to speak about our music. Thanks for that!
Do you have any role models or idols? Big fan of John Bonham for myself Not really. But there are artists whom I respect a lot like Dave Grohl or Tom Morello. Why do you think that they exist? People need to indentify themselves through an idol / icon, The most charismatic he is, the most people follow him/her I don’t like the idolization. I am more interested by the works than by the artists.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Not necessary but any good music would influence us even if we don’t really decide it.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Not really for the moment The most difficult it is to find places where to play.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Work Work Work!
How do you get psyched for a gig? At the beginning I feel nervous, but after 1 song I forget and I have fun on stage. Just pleasure,beers and drugs (LOL)
Do you have any new material? Yes. We have just finished realizing our clip and we reveal our E.P at the same time. It’s just 3 songs live performed but it’s a beginning!
What are your web sites? It’s work in progress. At the moment, you can check us on facebook, bandcamp and soundcloud.
How can people reach? On our facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/grapekelly/ Do not hesitate to write to us and like our page to be informed !!
What are your plans for the future? Play in live and record in studio ! An album studio would be good.
Do you have something to add? Thank you very much for your attention ☺ Thanks to you!

Kommentera här: