interview with Reverend Kill

Have any of you played in other bands? yes. I have played in various bands over the years. Downtrodden in the early days then Thorazine when I finally met some heavy people. Then Deimos. A stint in Pericardium. Then Rev Kill. And lately I just joined Pecado on bass. 
How is it that you started playing music? when I was young there wasn't really heavy metal and no propaganda pushing heavy rock. I just discovered it. Loved the distorted guitar sound and followed my heart. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Right now it is just me . Don Stenhouse. 50 Playing everything. I'll hire drums. I am exploring musically and I got deserted. Lol. Whatever. I have a full new cd ready. It has brutal stuff but also other styles and just tunes. I'm just trying to create a cool listen. I'll reform a lineup sometime but right now this is cool. And I play live with Pecado.
Have you had other previous members? oh so fucking many. Lol
Did you make music even when you were young? my parents never let me play music. They hated me practicing it was brutal just getting a guitar. I got kicked out. But once I got it instantly I started making tunes.
Where are you from? Melfort Saskatchewan
What year did the band form? 2004
What's your style of genre? Metal
What inspires you? Life
How often and where do you reherse? everyday I practice a few hours( and still suck) rev jams 3times a week 2 or 3sets . And Pecado jamming lots now also trying to fit in
How have you developed since you started with the music? I taught myself everything from books and by ear. I know theory well now with my own approach I pracalways with click. And I play classical also a major love of mine. I'm making my first cd now. I wanna make a few. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I run heavy equipment and have my own Landscape construction company. And my kid.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? For sure the bigger our team the better. Pecado has management and in the kill I am pretty low key . 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Not really I post my shit for free on the net. I got my own studio shit. I don't need the headaches. I am not a star I just want to play guitar. 
What made you decide to make this music? My heart lead me here.
What are your songs about? Gore violence sex weed cars dirt bikes women just life stuff.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Me Don. I let others add a tune but it's usually never the same style. Metal nowadays is a wide spectrum and I am tunnel vision. Lol
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? It could be either.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? My bedroom. 
Have you done any covers live? Fuck so many. I love classic Metal. And up to mid nineties death metal. I love learning and playing classics.
What language do you sing in? Foul  :)
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I think around 460 was our best and one many times lol. 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? 15-50. There is no age in Metal
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Vary always. We got lots.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Ya there are venues I prefer but we'd play anywhere
What was your first gig like? Wasted. :) 
What was your latest gig? Pecado last Friday
Have you had to cancel a gig? Couple time cause of blizzards. I hate to cancel. It is lame. But safety first. Guys that cancel are a big revolving reason. 
Where have you played live this year? Just Calgary I have been locked down practicing I gotta get good. 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? States and Canada so far. But again mostly Pecado. I want to put time into the next rev kill cd I want IT to be cool
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Always have merch . Sunglasses. Knives. Shirts hoodies.  Homemade CDs Etc..
Where can people buy your merchandise? Usually from me . Lol I am lame that way. I used to have a website but waste of time. If you want just ask. 
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? It's cool. 
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Anyone can get their music out there. Rich rockstar days are over but who cares it makes the underground thrive and that's where I exist.
What do you think of my work? I like it :)
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? People can know me I guess. The part of the business that matters to me is getting as good as I can on guitar. That's all I want.
Do you have any role models or idols? Ya old school Motocross guys like Bob Hannah. Heavy rockers of the 70's. And dudes I grew up with that played and were cool. 
Why do you think that they exist? Likely cause their parents boinked.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Oh ya I am inspired by the music scene I'm in. Everyone new and old. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? Sissies. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? It's tough. Love it for what it is. Love your instrument. Leave religious beliefs and political views out. Believe in the band name . Just have fun. Life is Short.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Be alone practice. Noone around
Do you have any new material? Yes easy full cd and recording with Pecado also soon. 
What are your web sites? YouTube. ReverbNation. Facebook all Rev Kill
How can people reach you? On Facebook . Either band or personal page. 
What are your plans for the future? Practice play. Die. 
Do you have something to add? Thanks for acknowledging my existence. I appreciate it and wish you all the best. Stay Heavy \m/\m

Kommentera här: