interview with Robert Dawes

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes , The sunset valley boys 1980’s , Draggin” rockabilly trio 1980/90’s , The band with no name, Sgt Bilko’s Krazy combo until recently and now in the process of forming a new band

How is it that you started playing music? I started aged 13 years just listening to early Rockabilly and Vintage Swing

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Sgt Bilko’s Singer/Guitar Bernie Drums Tim Sharpe and Me on Bass

Have you had other previous members? Quite a few over several bands

Did you make music even when you were young? Yes I started slapping the bass around 13 years of age

Where are you from? I live North Cornwall UK

What year did the band form? My First band formed early 1980’s The sunset valley boys

What's your style of genre? Vintage Swing/jazz and Rockabilly

What inspires you?  I love Vintage New Orleans Jazz and Swing

How often and where do you rehearse? Once a week in Cornwall UK

How have you developed since you started with the music? I played Bass for 35 years and progressed nicely, I also play Classical Guitar at Grade 8 level

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? My family 2 daughters and my wife first and most important. I love my Golf and play to a handicap of 2

 

 

What made you decide to make this music? My Love for music and the enjoyment it gives people and the feeling I get from it, just love showing off really lol

What are your songs about? Mainly Covers but with Sgt Bilko’s Bernie wrote all songs from life’s experience and current affairs of the time

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Depending on the bands but generally we all add a bit

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Lyrics mainly

Do you compose in a certain environment? Where ever and whenever it comes to me

Have you done any covers live? Yes a fair few

What language do you sing in? English

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Probably 7 and as much as a thousand

What ages are most of your concert attendants? Adult but can vary

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? No we vary the set list and mix them up

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No regular place we play festivals/pubs/clubs and private parties

What was your first gig like? I can’t really remember sorry

What was your latest gig? Falmouth on the quay side about 3 weeks ago

Have you had to cancel a gig? Yes through illness

Where have you played live this year? Falmouth, Exeter, Chagford show, Trerice manor house

Where do you plan to gig the coming year? All over where people want us

Where can people buy your merchandise? Nowhere yet

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I have no thoughts on the matter really

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Not sure to be honest I tend not to take interest in those matters

What do you think of my work? I don’t know you but I guess it’s valid

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I don’t

Do you have any role models or idols? I respect people but I don’t idolize and no role models other than muself

Why do you think that they exist? I suppose people feel the need to believe in something

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Yes definitely

What have been your biggest obstacles? My weight

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Keep believing keep trying and just have fun

How do you get psyched for a gig? I just look forward to playing if you can call that Psyched I don’t know

Do you have any new material? Yes from time to time

What are your web sites? Just band page on Facebook

How can people reach? Via email / phone or social media

What are your plans for the future? The live long stay healthy love my wife and children and play as much as I can

Do you have something to add? Thanks for the questions and the time it took you to put them together , have fun love life and go for it.

Kommentera här: