interview with Alan Coux

Have any of you played in other bands? Alan Coux : Yes, we've all played in other bands.
How is it that you started playing music? My older brother played the guitar, I thought it was great, I had an old classical guitar, but I wanted to play on an electric!
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Alain Couturet "Alan Coux": Guitar / vocals. 47 years
Olivier Voirin: Bass / vocals. 50 years

Loic Royer: Drums / vocals. 38 years old

Have you had other previous members?
 Yes, Jerome Joly singing, but he lived far away and it was difficult for him to come play with us.
Did you make music even when you were young?
 For me (Alan Coux) I started the guitar around 15, but I played little. Olivier was singing with his father and Loic took drumming lessons when he was a child.
Where are you from?
 We are all three from eastern France
What year did the band form?
 It's complicated, I formed the group 7 years ago, we stopped playing 3 years ago, and we play again for about a year.
What's your style of genre? 
Rock, Hard Rock
How often and where do you reherse? We repeat once every 15 days at home.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
 
Yes, I teach guitars and I have a cabinetmaking workshop where I make furniture and guitars.
Olivier working on a lock on a canal

Loic work in the supermarket

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?
 No, we're doing it alone and that's fine
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?
 No, not for the moment
What made you decide to make this music?
 
It's the music I've been listening to since I was a child, when I started to compose, I did not ask myself a question, this style was obvious
What are your songs about?
 I like writing simple songs that talk about simple things that can happen to anyone
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?
 In fact I had written the music and lyrics of all the songs 7 years ago, and then I looked for a bassist and a drummer, Olivier and Loic had written the lyrics of two songs. Last year when we started playing together again, I composed 10 new songs. From now on we will try to compose together. Of course, Olivier and Loic bring their expertise on the bass and drums I wrote.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics?
 I always start my compositions with music, I find a riff that I like, then verse and chorus, and solo. For the lyrics, I play the music several times and the atmosphere reminds me of the lyrics
Do you compose in a certain inviroment?
 In my music room, alone with my guitar
Have you done any covers live?
 Yes, we play 5 or 6 covers on stage
What language do you sing in?
 we sing in English
What ages are most of your concert attendants?
 Between 15 and 70 years, all those who love rock !!!
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? 
Everything depends on the length of the concert, we can play 2:30, if we play 1 hour or 1:30, we do not necessarily choose the same songs
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes, I'm always right of the drummer! Olivier left and forcing Loic in the center
What was your first gig like? I was 18 years old with my brother and my cousin, in a small party room
What was your latest gig?
 Saturday, July 7, 2018, last weekend, small private concert with the people of my village!
Have you had to cancel a gig?
 Never for the moment
Where have you played live this year?
 We started playing with the group 9 months ago to be exact, we had a lot of work to return to a decent collective game, we found the scene only since May 26, 2018. We play the festival "Mai du rock" Chalindrey26.05,  concert in Chaumont 21.06, Concert in Langres 23.06 and concert in Aulnoy on dawn 07.07. and now, we are prospecting to play as much as possible.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? 
We have listed all the cafés concert in France and all the festivals, now you have to spend hours to contact everyone, but it's for the good cause!
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?
 We have nothing for the moment, as I said above, it is group that starts again, there is everything to put in place to be known again
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
 it's not cool, the artists are not paid for their work, now it changes a bit, the sites are often paid and some is still donated to artists.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? 
I think the record industry takes advantage of this to say to the musician: "We can not pay you properly because everyone takes your music on the internet ..."
What do you think of my work? I read some interviews on your blog and it's very interesting, fans can better know their band and the lives of musicians.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?
 Reading this interview can make you want to listen to our music and make us perform live
Do you have any role models or idols? 
For me : Slash, Van Halen, Angus Young, Dave Murray, Mia karlsson (Coldheart), Hassan Hajdi
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? older I think
What advice would you give other bands or artists?
 Never give up!
How do you get psyched for a gig?
 Before each concert, I am super excited, I want to go on stage and play with the most force possible!
Do you have any new material?
 Yes, a small EVH 15w amp head that works great!
What are your web sites?
 facebook page "Hessdalen"
How can people reach you?
 By contacting us on Facebook
What are your plans for the future?
 We send our application to play in a maximum of festivals next year!
Do you have something to add?
 Tank you for the interview

Kommentera här: