interview with Paolo Blaquera

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes.  All of us (me, bassist and drummer) met while we were playing with other bands. 
How is it that you started playing music? I was always surrounded by music when I was growing up.The radio was always on, and my uncles and cousins were always singing and playing guitar. At first, I wanted to play piano, but that changed the day I heard Yngwie Malmsteen. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
I am Paolo Blaquera, I play guitar.  
It’s either Glenn Bondoc, Josh Tulagan on bass
On drums, it’s either Joseph Esparrago or Lester Banzuelo
Have you had other previous members? On bass and drums, yes. Lots of them!  It’s a revolving door. LOL
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, I guess…. I started guitar when I was eleven.
Where are you from? All of us are based in Manila, Philippines
What year did the band form? In 2009
What's your style of genre? Believe it or not, the group started out as a straight ahead Jazz trio.  Then it metamorphosed into a progressive fusion group, with elements of classical and metal.
What inspires you? Instrumental Virtuosity inspires me. 
How often and where do you reherse? As a group, once or twice before a gig.
How have you developed since you started with the music? I now play Extended range guitars exclusively. (Y, 8, and 9 string guitars)
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Yes, I am also a computer programmer, and am currently exploring video effects design. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, If they would have me. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I write all of our stuff.  All tunes are instrumental tunes.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Usually around 3am.
Have you done any covers live? Sometimes.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?
We once played in a club that was completely empty.
We’ve also played in front of a few hundred people. 
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We more or less play the same songs, but we try to play them differently every night. 
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes, at Taco Jazz Cafe.  The only LEGIT jazz bar in Manila.
What was your first gig like? It was fun!  Lots of musician friends watched, and ljammed.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I just hope they come up with a working system that is advantageous to all parties, compensation-wise.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Streaming services have taken the place of record companies, and radio.  
What do you think of my work? You are doing a great thing for artists!  Thank you, and more power!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Well, I think it will help introduce my music to a wider, more international audience.
Do you have any role models or idols? I could name a few guitarists:  Yngwie Malmsteen, Akira Takasaki, Allan Holdsworth, George Lynch… and many more. But these four were my major influences during my formative years.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both, I guess.  There are new bands coming out of the woodwork that have amazing stuff.
How do you get psyched for a gig? I listen to heavy music before a gig. My favourite band to listen to before a gig is Dimmu Borgir.
Do you have any new material?
I posted a new tune on Youtube a few days ago. Here’s the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdK1KdpbESk
What are your web sites?
https://www.facebook.com/PaoloBlaqueraGuitarist/
https://www.instagram.com/pao_b_geetar
https://open.spotify.com/album/7pmk231xmYiv6g6eIF337O
How can people reach? They can message me on my fb artist site. 
What are your plans for the future? I’m planning to release a few more singles, and a new album this year.
Do you have something to add? Thanks for the interview, and more power!

Kommentera här: