interview with The Joshua Project

Have any of you played in other bands?
That is an interesting question, considering what The Joshua Project IS. This may require a little context. The Joshua Project has been described as a solo act, though I find it difficult to stand behind that statement, even though they are usually referring to me when they make that statement. I began TJP while I was living in my dorm in college and at that point it truly was a solo project. I had been in several bands prior over the years (playing either bass or lead vocals) and my most recent band had just gone through a break up. A friend of mine knew I was both frustrated with band break ups and missed being able to create whole songs, so he introduced me to some music software that was often used by DJs and Hip Hop artists. I liked to experiment and was interested in all genres of music, so I tried it out. From there, I began writing music, lyrics, and recording vocals...right there in my dorm. I started posting them online and garnering a bit of attention. People wanted to know what my “band” was called, so I told them it’s not really a band....more of a “project”....The Joshua Project. As I continued writing, a former band mate came along and asked if he could add some stuff to some of my songs, so we worked on a few songs together. After I had enough songs and gained enough interest on Myspace (yes, Myspace...lol) I reached out to Mike BBQ, the guy who recorded the demo of one of my former bands. The music I was doing now was often cited as being “industrial,” and I remembered him being known for being the founder of a big local industrial band in the 90’s (Dethkultur BBQ). If TJP was industrial and I wanted to take it into the studio, BBQ had to be the man for the job. After all, he did a great job on our demo. That was my first album (428). It was my first toe dip in the water album as I explored writing with electronic music. I found the genre of industrial opened up many doors to me for experimentation I could not do in riff-heavy hardcore metal and it took me before I found my groove - the proper balance of electronic music, beats, and guitars....of pop sounds, hip hop beats, and metal aggression. Flash forward to my most recent album and I still lean on BBQ to keep my bearings. I find his involvement with the project to be a definite advantage. He seems to know the direction i want to take a song (sometimes even before I do) and contributes much more to the production side of te house than I was willing to let him on that first album all those years ago. I’ve learned to let go a bit and trust his judgment a bit more. We don’t always agree on things production-wise, but at the same time, there has been many times he made a suggestion/change to a track I didn’t like, he bounced it and sent me home with it for a week to listen to, and when I came back it had become my favorite part of the song. We have a great working relationship. In that regard, although I felt part of what made TJP so enduring was the lack of band members to fight w/one another or “break up,” demanding songs they were a part of to go w/them, I took the leap as suggested by BBQ, because after all...I did miss working with and playing off of other artists. In doing so, The Joshua Project has one off collaborations with Jose Domena (Dread Pixels), Colin Travis (formerly of Dethkultur BBQ), and Mike Marksberry (Anova Skyway). Mike BBQ also contributed a significant amount of guitar work along w/production on various songs. Although I retain intellectual property rights and final say on all music and arrangements, each of their styles is reflected in the music they’ve contributed and will hopefully continue to contribute. I have the privilege of having many talented musicians as friends. In addition to the musicians featured in TJP, I have several live performing artists who I consider to be “band members” just as much as those who help write the music. Khris Harding has become something of a mainstay and Steven Lehrbass (Dread Pixels) and Aaron Folsom (Eastgate) have both helped me bring The Joshua Project to life. Steven and Aaron are both talented musicians in their own rights and Khris is known for his work on the radio, so perhaps one day I’ll bring them all into the studio with me to make it official.

How is it that you started playing music? I’ve always wanted to sing, but never had the guts to do it on my own. I was in the honor choir as a kid (never solo) and sung songs in character during school plays...never anything serious. As a teenager I saw several friends getting into guitar, wanted to play rock as well, but still had that shyness. I picked up bass, because first of all - nobody else was doing it...so it was different...and secondly, I could be a rock star, while maintaining a low profile....in the background (shy, remember). I eventually became type casted by my friends as the bass player, so when I grew in confidence and decided to explore singing...I received constant pushback. It wasn’t until I moved to California when I was 18 or 19 (in pursuit of music) that I was able to reinvent myself. I sold myself as a “singer who also plays bass.” I picked up the mic w/confidence and it worked out well. Later, when I returned to Houston for college and friends approached me to join their bands, I set the condition that I had to be the singer.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Joshua Lowry - vocals, keys, bass, synth, beats, sounds/samples, production, etc.
Mike BBQ - guitars, keys, synth, beats, sounds/samples, production
Mike Marksberry - drums
Jose Domena - guitars, keys, synth, beats
Colin Travis - keys, synth, beats, sounds/samples
Khris Harding - performing artist
Steven Lehrbass - performing artist
Aaron Folsom - performing artist
Have you had other previous members? Yes, but if they aren’t part of it now...there’s a reason....lol
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes. I’ve always written poetry, which were basically lyrics before I had the guts to sing them....lol I’ve always made an instrument out of anything I got my hands on...I think that is why I was an early adopter of hip hop. I loved how they made complete songs out of samples and beats....I still use beats and sounds to begin most of my songs today. Instrumental melodies (bass, guitars, keys) usually come last.
Where are you from? I’m from the east side of Houston....born and raised (mostly). I also lived in several surrounding cities and towns and moved around a few small towns in MS as a kid (stepdad was from there). I moved to Lake Elsinor, California for a short period of time as well. I’m very nomadic....lol. Houston is always been my mainstay though.
What year did the band form? I started writing music for The Joshua Project in 2006-7 and that music was featured on the first album 428 (no longer in production). The Joshua Project you hear and see today really began in 2015....but that is the beauty of the “solo artist” concept...this “band” will never break up. It will endure as long as I want to make music with it.
What's your style of genre? Industrial/Electronic/Industrial-Rock....take your pick.
What inspires you? I have a Master’s in sociology so I am inspired by the world around me. I like to stay current on world events and use the different lenses of my discipline for social commentaries. I put music behind me in 2007 after releasing 428, something that was meant more for me than anyone else. Of all of the bands I had been in prior, 428 was the first complete album I had ever released. Even if nobody really heard it, I could finally say I released a full length album, since every band I was in prior broke up before we made one. At that point, I was done with music (or so I thought). Years later, in pursuit of my graduate degree....I became inspired to write again....for the first time in what seemed like forever, I was writing poetry, lyrics, dusting off old instruments and recording new tracks. Viewing the issues of the world around me through the many different lenses of sociology woke something up in me...something I hope to never put back to sleep.
How often and where do you reherse? I invested quite a bit into converting my garage into a sound proof studio. I rehearse there anytime the mood hits me, but especially in preparation for a tour or stent of live performances.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Sometimes I read an article about a social issue or hear about it in the news and it sets of feelings in me that that ultimately become lyrics on paper. Other times I start writing music without any planned direction....just an expression of my feelings set to sound. Still, other times I have a concept in mind and begin building a stage prop, costume, or set piece. I know it will be tied to a song, but I have no lyrics or even music in mind. When I started work on War Machine....the song started from me getting an idea for this crazy outfit that I wanted to bring to the stage. I worked on this thing for several months....just totally focused on building and designing this kinda mech-suit. I called it my “War Machine” and decided that would be the name of the song. Once I neared completion, I went through several incomplete song parts saved on my computer until I came across one that Domena and I had worked on. My lyrics were crap, but the music was killer! I scrapped the lyrics I had, reworked the arrangement a bit...added some parts to it and took others out. Finally, I wrote new lyrics in line w/my War Machine concept and there you have it...easily one of (if not the) heaviest track on the album. I’m sure Domena thought I would never get around to using that song idea...he seemed to have given up asking me when I was gonna do something with it....lol...but there it is! War Machine!
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? My interests are all over the place. Besides my research....which would bore most anyone to tears...lol. I enjoy film, screenplay, creative writing, storytelling, storyboarding, costume/set design, and theater. I’m also an avid gamer....though that can easily become a time sink and distraction away from my creativity. That being said, I am a bit of a perfectionist so I rarely have time to venture into any these other interests beyond TJP. I have a family, which are incredibly supportive, so I spend most of my free time with them. We travel, go to the beach, check out live shows...that kind of thing.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Booking is the one aspect I would gladly hand over to someone else. For now, I handle all booking (locally and nationally) personally, but it is the part of the business I enjoy the least. I’ve learned a lot from doing it, so I definitely feel for the folks in this industry who handle this aspect regularly. In doing it, I’ve learned how hard it can be, and what I should and should not expect. As long as certain particulars are met to ensure my road crew and performance costs are covered and I have adequate time to set up, so I can put on a great show...I would gladly hand this aspect over to someone else so that I can focus on the music and performance. This person would of course need to be adequately compensated as well.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I’m not so much “looking for a label,” but I’m not opposed to one either. It all depends on what they have to offer. I’m not young and naive, looking to get signed so I can say, “I made it!” I don’t know if it really ever worked that way, but it certainly doesn’t work that way now. I view a label as a business partner. To them, I’m an investment...a product they hope to make something off of....otherwise, why invest? To me....they are an investor that would have a stake in The Joshua Project only because they would be able to help it accomplish something that would otherwise be more difficult or impossible to do on my own. It’s a negotiated partnership....so I would just need to see what they have to offer.
What made you decide to make this music? I think I answered this one already.
What are your songs about? I believe I answered this one as well, but I can elaborate. Each song has its own independent social commentary to it. At the same time, they all have a common them or social commentary, which are strung together to create a larger, all encompassing commentary. Furthermore, I incorporate performance art and satire to add another level of social commentary to the mix. Some have asked me about it being political and having a political message, but to me...if they have a political message it is only because everything is politicized nowadays. In sociology, we tend to focus on social issues and politics is one aspect of society....but when we, as a society focus on politicizing the extremes...creating an “us” and “them” worldview through the lens of politics...well...I guess my message gets a bit political from time to time....unintentionally. My focus is truly on the issues...the politics are tangential at best.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I write the lyrics and have final say in the arrangements, though BBQ has a strong influence. The music is composed either by myself or by the artists credited on the album.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I think I covered this one too.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Music is either composed in my studio, home, or the tracks are sent to me from the various contributors. Some composition is done in BBQ’s studio as well, during the final production process.
Have you done any covers live? I am looking forward to performing “Total Invasion” live. It was originally composed by Killing Joke and will be my first live cover song. I’ve worked on other cover songs, but I am quite critical of my own performances, and I found none of them satisfactory. This song will be performed by The War Pig and its lyrics are right up his alley. I feel confident he will do it justice.
What language do you sing in? English...though I’m not opposed to incorporating some Spanish in the future. I’ll just need to get my friends to check me on my grammar! lol
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I’ve played in front of as few as 2-3 people before...lol. My largest audience was at my recent audition in front of the celebrity judges of America’s Got Talent. I believe there were 3000ppl (+/-) in the crowd. You’ll have to tune in this season to find out how it went.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? The age of concert attendees seem to run the gambit. Since industrial is an older style of music and many of my shows take place at bars, the majority of concert goers tend to be 30s-50s. That being said, many bring their kids and the kids love the crazy theatrics of it all. That’s why I try to set up shows at venues that allow all ages. It’s hard to do as a band just starting out, but I just know once the kids see my live show and understand my message....it will catch on.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? When I picked back up with TJP in 2015, I started out incorporating some of my older songs. As I’ve wrote newer material and put more effort into the stage show’s choreography, I’ve begun to weed out the older stuff. It just doesn’t fit the new direction...performance wise. I’ve flirted with bringing back an old song or 2, but for now, I’m focused on the future of The Joshua Project. That being said, when I begin performing again in 2019 I will have several new songs added to the set and stage show...all from the new album WWIII:REFUSE/RESIST.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Scout Bar in Clear Lake is really close to where I live, so I’ve played there quite a bit in the past. Acadia on the north side of town is another venue I tend to frequent. Great sound and the guy in charge of sound and booking has always been hospitable. The Thirsty Camel in San Antonio would also under this description as well.
What was your first gig like? Honestly....awkward. I did one show under the banner of the first album back in 2007. It was at The Engine Room in Houston, Tx, which I was able to book through an old contact from my metal days. He knew I wouldn’t bring him crap. The music was so different though and it was my first attempt at incorporating theatrics w/my music. I don’t think I really had an ironed out direction I was going with it other than just being “weird.” It definitely caught people’s attention though. There was a bar right next door and I saw a few people leave around the second song only to return with a group of 5-10 folks dressed in standard issue industrial/goth attire. They must’ve went next door to get them. They whole audience as captivated and I received several compliments after the show, so I knew I was on to something.
What was your latest gig? My most recent gig was auditioning for AGT in Pasadena, California. Prior to that, I performed at a haunted house in Buffalo, Tx.
Have you had to cancel a gig? The only gig I ever cancelled was at the Elysium in Austin, Tx. I was a little too excited to book it and did not realize the date conflicted with an event I had to attend for work. John was very understanding (I contacted him 2-3 days after booking it) and we’ve sense looked at other dates to book. He wants to make sure I only perform with an act that compliments my sound and performance, which I can appreciate.
Where have you played live this year? So far, my only live performance this year has been for AGT at The Pasadena Convention Center in Pasadena, California. I’m currently working on my set for future live performances...hopefully starting this summer.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I’d like to book a couple of mini-tours...maybe one out west and one up north or through the Midwest....of course, depending on how well the new album is received and how quickly things take off...I could conceivably go further. I would love to perform in more places, as long as the finances of it all work out.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I started selling merch at my first show in 2015. I have a full line of merch listed on my online store (www.thejoshuaprojectmusic.com). Everything from albums, to t-shirts, stickers, hats, pins, dog tags....even some old military manuals I picked up from an army surplus store.
Where can people buy your merchandise? See previous response. You can also pick it up for a discount at any live show. I tend to get a bit emotional in person and begin making all kinds of one-off deals...lol
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? It’s just the way it is now. I can’t blame them. Streaming music is the future of mass consumption, so if you want people to buy a physical copy of the album....you’ve got to make it something special. Something unique. Physical albums are purchased nowadays more as a novelty. I get it. That’s why my new album so being released online or in the form of an engraved dog tag flash drive, packaged in a metal tin w/album artwork all over it. It’s got to be something cool that goes beyond simply owning the music...which most of the youth today couldn’t care less about...
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I think it’s hurting...primarily because they resisted the change. I am seeing bands that haven’t toured in years starting to to hit the road again and I don’t think it’s a coincidence. They’re finding less and less revenue come from people purchasing music and more coming from shows. People don’t want to pay for music anymore....but what they will pay for is an experience. That’s why I put so much focus on my live shows. I’ve had people come back to shows again and again that quite honestly don’t even listen to industrial music....but they enjoy my shows....they wear my merch. You have to make it entertaining for the fans....especially if you do this to make a living. I think older bands are starting to see this....so I try to view it as a good thing....though I’m sure if you were used to drawing revenue from album sales alone, you might see things a bit differently....heh
What do you think of my work? Honestly, I had never heard of you before you reached out to me....but I am grateful that you did. I’ve reviewed your Facebook page, YouTube videos, and checked out your website (http://ghgumman.blogg.se/) and, although I don’t understand a word of Swedish (lol), I do have google translate...and I really love what you do. I believe a band’s influence only travels as far as the journalists who take an interest in them....and I can see you have helped many artists reach out to a larger audience than they could have done on their own.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I know you can help me reach out to and tap into a much larger audience...an audience who, without your help, would never hear of or care to know about The Joshua Project. For that, you have my eternal gratitude!
Do you have any role models or idols? I learned a long time ago that idolizing anyone only leads to disappointment. For that matter, I do have many role models who have influenced me in many different ways...all of which contribute to who I am as a person and a musician. I’m scared to list them all here for fear of leaving someone out or making the appear less significant....not to mention I would probably bore you and your readers to tears with how long the list would be...lol. I look up to a great many people for various reasons.
Why do you think that they exist? My role models? I think they exist for their own reasons and it is I who have made them of greater significance in my life. Role models don’t necessarily ask to be role models....people just adopt them as such and begin patterning aspects of their own lives around them.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I find inspiration with bands young and old. Music is very cyclical and what was old becomes new if enough time is allowed to pass.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Money and time...that was an easy one! lol
What advice would you give other bands or artists?

Have fun with it! I always say I make music for fun, but I take my fun seriously...lol
I’m a competitive person, but not the type to compete with others on who is the best musician, band, singer, songwriter, etc. I compete with myself. I want each performance to be better than my last, so I am extremely critical of myself. In the end though, I have to remember to have fun with it. I know I am doing something others could only dream of, so I’ve got to enjoy it while I can.
How do you get psyched for a gig? I arrive and set up early, so I can meet with the crowd and get a feel for the night. If I’m a headliner or perform later in the night...I like to watch the other acts. Their performances help me get pumped for my own. I’ll usually listen to the songs a time or 2 beforehand as well.
Do you have any new material? I just released an album (WWIII:REFUSE/RESIST), which can be found on iTunes, Apple Music, Spotify, etc. You can also pick it up on my homepage (www.thejoshuaprojectmusic.com).

What are your web sites?
I think I’ve plugged the website 2-3 times already (lol), but I have no shame in promoting....heh

www.thejoshuaprojectmusic.com
www.facebook.com/thejoshuaprojectmusic
www.instagram.com/thejoshuaprojectmusic
www.tumblr.com/thejoshuaprojectmusic
www.twitter.com/thejoshuaprojct
How can people reach?
They can reach me via social media or email at [email protected]. I would also recommend signing up for the mailing list (i.e. Join the Revolution) on my official homepage.
What are your plans for the future? More music and touring. I would love to travel and tour overseas....I hear the industrial scene is really alive over there. Perhaps this interview can will garner enough interest for someone to help me make that happen! 😉
Do you have something to add? I just really appreciate you taking the time to reach out to me for this interview. I hope one day soon to travel overseas and put on a fantastic show for all of your readers. Much ❤️ to you and everyone out there.

Kommentera här: