interview with Dave Rosewood

Have any of you played in other bands? No, I have only played solo since I have been playing music.  The members of The Rough Riders have been in various bands before. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? 
My name is Dave Rosewood.  I am a solo artist who plays both as a troubadour and with my band the Rough Riders.  I sing lead vocals and play mostly rhythm guitar, and on occassion play harmonica, piano, and lap steel.  
Björn Holm plays melody guitar and sings backing vocals in addition to working as sound engineer and my co-producer on recordings.  Roger ”Bullford” Olofsson plays bass and sings backing vocals.  Monica Paulsson plays drums and sings backing vocals. 
Have you had other previous members? The band has no previous members.  
Where are you from? I am from the Ozark Mountians, US.  Björn is from Västerbotten.  Bullford and Monica are both from Småland.
What year did the band form? Björn and I were asked if we would put together a band for a local summer festival in 2017. These members were part of the band and have been a part of almost all of Dave Rosewood recordings and many concerts the past few years. 
What's your style of genre? Dave Rosewood roughly fits in the categories of singer-songwriter, alt. country, country, folk, folk-rock, and americana.
What inspires you? My own life experiences, the life experiences of others that I meet and talk with.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I think every artist should start off booking themselves so they understand what it entails. Eventually it gets to the point where you just don´t have time to do everything so if you want to keep advancing your music career I think in general you have to work with a booking agent.  To that end I am interested in working with a booking agent at some point in the near future.  
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I think when physical media was the main form of distribution it was basically a neccesity to work with a label because of the capital required to produce and distribute physical media.  Now it is simple to spread your music through digital means.  I am not actively looking to work with a label but would would consider it if they right deal was offered.   
What are your songs about? They are a combination of my life experiences and experiences of the people I meet, as well as stories I think of.  
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Dave Rosewood is a solo artist and writes the vast majority of the chord structures, melodies, and lyrics.  The members of the Rough Riders then put their own personal touch on their individual part of the song.  
Have you done any covers live? We do mostly original Dave Rosewood compositions and a few covers. 
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Whenever a song idea comes. There is no certain place or time that happens.
Have you done any covers live? We do mostly original Dave Rosewood compositions and a few covers. 
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Least: 0 (ZERO) Most: 412
What ages are most of your concert attendants? All ages, we have from small children to the elderly both at full band shows and Dave Rosewood solo shows
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We play mostly Dave Rosewood originals with a few covers thrown in but we tend to experient with song arrangement so you might hear the same song played in a different way over the course of a few concerts.  I do this both with the band and when I play solo.  It keeps it interesting for the performers and the audience.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Right now mostly playing in and around Småland but Dave Rosewood will be doing a solo tour in Sweden and Norway in September, dates in Denmark in October and dates in Denmark and Germany in November. 
What was your first gig like? Starting off as a solo artist it was for a bunch of very drunk people at a honky tonk on a Saturday afternoon. One guy did ask me to autograph his napkin and told me I would be famous one day.  
What was your latest gig? Lofta Cafe in Gamleby, solo gig.
Where have you played live this year?
Dave Rosewood has played solo in Inverness, Scotland, Liverpool, England.  Lots of dates in and around Småland.
Dave Rosewood & The Rough Riders have had several shows in Småland.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Started selling merchandise with the release of my debut album Gravel and Gold as a CD.  Now I have Gravel and Gold CDs, Dave Rosewood postcards, Dave Rosewood bottle openers.  I also give buttons away at the shows to show appreciation to my fans.  
Where can people buy your merchandise? Right now the merchandise is only available at shows but folks are free to contact me and I can ship.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I am glad that people all over the world have such easy access to listen to my music.  I think it creates many opportunities to make new fans which is wonderful.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Physial media both from a production and distribution standpoint are less important so I think it gives more people a chance to make careers of music.
What do you think of my work? You do great interviews and I really appreciate the in depth questions that I dont think you get with most music media.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I think it always good to network and make connections with other people that work in music.  I think this interview is another chance for people to see what Dave Rosewood´s music is all about. 
Do you have any role models or idols? I wouldn´t say I have any role models or idols but I definitely have some influcences.  I would say there is alot of influence from the outlaw country movement and the folk and rock music movement of the late 60´s.  I wouldn´t say it is anything specifically music wise but more that as an artist you should try to acheive your artistic vision and not let others detour you. 
Why do you think that they exist? People find something in an artist they would like to see or develop in themselves.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both, I would say most of the music I listen to is from the late 60s early 70´s but there are alot of independent artists out there today doing things their way which I really appreciate and find inspiring. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? I would say the biggest obstacle has been transitioning from  a full time job into a career in music.  You need the money from the job to do things but the time you are working is also time away from things you need to do to further your music career. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? 
Stick to your artistic vision.  It´s good to listen to constructive criticism but in the end you are the one that has to be satisfied with your work.  If you are satisfied and enjoy the work you are doing people will see this and become interested and eventually become fans. 
The second piece of advice is to be kind and respectful to everyone.  Say thank you to the bar staff, say thank you to those that listen to your music.  Life is much sweeter when you are thankful. 
Do you have any new material? Yes, my next single Drinkin Man will be out August 26th.  Drinkin Man is the lead single for my next album with will be released March 2020.
What are your web sites?
www.daverosewood.com
www.facebook.com/dave.rosewood
Do you have something to add? Just want to say thank you for a great interview.

Kommentera här: