interview with Lizette Lizette

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, me (Lizette) have had some bands before but mostly been a solo artist. I am still a solo artist but it’s more fun to have a band with me (who are also my best friends) on stage and on tours. It’s also fun to include them in my creative work, in videos and photoshoots. Gabriel is also my co-writer and producer. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? Lizette Nordahl (singer) and Gabriel Wagnberg (drums/dance). Lisa Pyk (keyboards) has been a previous member and is always welcomed back, maybe in the future. We’ll see.
Have you had other previous members? Aili Markelius used to be my drummer.
Where are you from? 
Me (Lizette) is born and raised in Stockholm, Värmdö but I have my roots from Peru.
Gabriel is born and raised in Norrköping.
What year did the band form? Like I said before, I’m more of a solo artist/band hybrid. And I decided to go solo in 2010.
What's your style of genre? I’ve created my own genre - Queerbody. It’s electronic, dark, dancey and very queer.
What inspires you? Old, forgotten dance-songs/videos. From the 90s and 00s. But also my clubkid friends, they are so amazing and creative.
How have you developed since you started with the music? I’ve learned to run my businesses on my own, with success. When I was a kid I thought that you needed managers and record labels to succeed as an artist, but it’s all fake. It’s much better to do it all your self, especially in the beginning of an career.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? No, I already have one I’m very satisfied with. United Stage is the best!
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? No, I have my own label. If I can do it better on my own, why should I let somebody else do it? That’s my experience. 
What made you decide to make this music? It has been a secret dream since I was 5 years old, but when I was a child I was to shy to express that. But when I started high school, I started my first band and went for it. A 100 percent. 
What are your songs about? Alienation, betrayal, feeling like a looser, depression, revenge and gender identity. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Me! And now a days I have my bff Gabriel Wagnberg on my side too. And it has happened that I’ve stolen some demos from Nicklas (Kite) he he...
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Mostly at home, but sometimes in different studios too.
Have you done any covers live? Yes! Once I did an Enya-version of Oasis “Supersonic”. That was quite cool.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Once in London I played for 5 people, all of them were my friends. And the most must have been the 900 people that came to see me opening for Kite in May. 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Hm, all between 18 too 60. I seam to have a lot of older men as fans, they like synth.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Mostly I play the same songs.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Hm, not really. 
What was your first gig like? As Lizette Lizette? It was in India, New Delhi, at a hotel. There was a lot of people, but I can’t judge if they liked it or not.
What was your latest gig? I opened for Kite at Arbis in Norrköping, it was wonderful.
Where have you played live this year? I did a tour this spring. Stockholm, Malmö, Falun, Jönköping, Linköping, Växjö and Norrköping. 
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I sell vinyls, CDs and t-shirts. That started when people started to ask for it, when my fan base started to grow.
Where can people buy your merchandise? https://lizettelizette.bandcamp.com/merch
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I don’t think anything of it, I download too when I DJ. It’s just evolution I guess...
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Everybody sayes “there’s no money” but there is. It’s just that they spend it on shit music that nobody cares sucks.
What do you think of my work? I love the darkness!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Maybe people will learn something new about me, and that’s always fun!
Do you have any role models or idols? Hm, Madonna has always been a role model. But also Opus III, Enya, George Michael and Deee-lite.
Why do you think that they exist? Cause they are all fierce! 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Yes! Haha! I only listen to old music, from the 80s and 90s. Even from the 00s. Music today is so boring, it all sounds the same to me.
What have been your biggest obstacles? To get accepted in the music business. It took a LONG time until people in the business started to respect my work. I had to prove my self a lot until they did. But it was worth it, cause I did it all on my own. And I’m so proud of that.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Do your thing, don’t try to please anybody. And do it on your own.
Do you have any new material? Yes, I’m working on a third album and have come long way. New single and video will be released this fall.
What are your web sites? www.lizettelizette.com
Do you have something to add? Stay fierce👌

Kommentera här: