Interview with Dave Brewer

Have any of you played in other bands? I spent most of my time in bands as a drummer, my first band was an indie rock band called The Jetsuns, heavily inspired by the likes of oasis and some catchy songs that 12 years later I can still remember well. I then joined a psychedelic 60's style band called The Bubblegum Radar, it was a new genre to me but it definitely opened my eyes to new types of music. I was also the drummer of a band called Kamikaze Club which gained me relative success, we were signed to a small label called Musika Records, featured on magazines and playing festivals. Strongly influenced by the likes of The Artic Monkeys, Kings of Leon and other similar bands of that era, I was feeling a bit unfulfilled as I've always been a bit of a rock/metal fan which led me to the last band I joined before working solo called In the Company of Wolves  

How is it that you started playing music? I've always sang and wrote songs from being little. I grew up constantly listening to my Dads rock albums but my favourite artist growing up was Michael Jackson. He was an all out performer and I liked that his songs always had meaning. I first started playing the drums when I was 11. I remember watching some kid at school take lessons and wishing I could play, every day I'd use a practice kit and try to copy the sounds I heard when someone played until eventually I was pretty good. As for guitar, one of my friends was learning when I was around 13 which got me playing. I remember sat next to the CD player with my guitar listening to bands like Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Greenday pausing and playing trying to copy the notes. The downside to teaching yourself instruments is that I can't read music but I never enjoyed the theory side of music, I just wanted to play.

Who plays what? / How old are you? / Where are you from? Previously known as Vade B under my drumming alias, I am Dave Brewer from Hull, England, aged 28, singer/songwriter, drummer, guitarist and I also dabble on bass and piano.

What's your style of genre? I have a mix. At the moment, I'm doing a lot of acoustic material and harmonising vocals but eventually I will start to introduce some rock and some heavier stuff.

What inspires you? I'm usually inspired by the things that are happening in my life and how I feel.

How have you developed since you started with the music? Starting off as a drummer playing in bands and occasionally guitar for acoustic gigs, I moved on to drumming in nightclubs and songwriting. Most notably was my collaboration with singer Dan Moody and rapper Dragg for a charity single called Untold Story which was released but I plan on revisiting that project. Eventually moving onto singing and songwriting as my main content.  

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I'll usually start with the music, come up with a melody to go with the music and add lyrics last. On occasion melodies and lyrics pop into my head randomly.

What was your favourite gig? One of my favourite gigs was in a club called The Adelphi, the atmosphere was amazing, people were jumping around everywhere and enjoying our music. My band also supported The View who are most famous for their hit song Same Jeans. Another great experience was blasting out music at Craven Park stadium and playing at KC stadium.

What do you think of my work? Very interesting.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Any music can be inspiration weather that be rock, metal, indie, pop or even classical.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Time.

Do you have any new material? Always.

What are your web sites?

https://www.youtube.com/user/uk3dave3

https://instagram.com/dave_brewer_

https://www.facebook.com/davebrewerofficial

https://twitter.com/dave_brewer_

What are your plans for the future? Keep on releasing music and getting back in the studio.

Kommentera här: