interview with Dirty Grave

Have any of you played in other bands? yes, I've played on Mistery (thrash metal), and currently I play at Mães Morredo (Doom / Stoner / Grunge), Victor Berg, former guitarist, also played on Mistery, and current drummer Henrique Sousa Lima plays on Black Feather Klan (Stoner Doom Metal).
How is it that you started playing music? It was after listening to Iron Maiden, I felt like I wanted to do that and that's what I've been trying to do so far. In my teenage years I started singing in covers bands, but that did not fill me, I tried to compose one day, even though I left a shit, that made me happy.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I, Mark Rainbow, play bass and chant, I'm 31 years old. Pedro Barros is new guitarist and Henrique Sousa Lima the drummer, at the moment I do not know to say their age.
Have you had other previous members? yes, Victor Berg, we formed the band together, he already had that intention, we are great friends and there will still be his compositions in Dirty Grave.
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, along with Victor, on Mistery, we played inspired by Slayer and Sepultura.
Where are you from? I am from Sales Oliveira, in the interior of São Paulo, I currently live in Orlândia, a city in the state of São Paulo, Brazil.
What year did the band form? It was in October 2013
What's your style of genre? Doom Metal
What inspires you? I love music, it's all I've had for a long time, so I think it's a way of giving back
How often and where do you rehearsal? The rehearsals are not very frequent, since we live in different states, but this does not disturb the band. We rehearse in studios and garages.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? It's not a job, but I've been thinking a lot about living on the road in a bus, always traveling, I can work with traditional tattoos and henna tattoos
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I write the lyrics, and I always share the compositions with Victor, now I will share with Pedro and Henrique as well.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I always start with music.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? In my house.
What was your first gig like? It was underground, here in Brazil the Doom Metal is very obscure, few know, but who knows makes the scene exist.
What was your latest gig? It was underground, here in Brazil the Doom Metal is very obscure, few know, but who knows makes the scene exist. O show foi no Stonehenge Rock Bar, ao lado da banda Pesta (BR) e Earthless (EUA).
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Since 2017 I have Evil Desire album available for sale.
Where can people buy your merchandise? My easiest for those outside Brazil is through Grimm Distribution (Russia), Todestrieb Records (UK) and Doom Stew Records (USA).
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?
I see both sides of this coin, I prefer to listen to physical material, especially LPs, but one day with less resources the MP3 was the only way to meet different bands and expand my musical knowledge.
I think the music is wonderful, I do not think it's cool for a person to be left without listening because they can not buy a disc, but if you can, help the bands and labels.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The industry had a monopoly, a band could be good, but without a businessman it would be difficult to reach other countries, the internet made people able to launch himself in this medium even without a businessman, but with a very lower capital concentration.
What do you think of my work? Your work is vital to the bands and underground audiences, you help keep it all alive.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? My business with music is to be heard, this interview makes me think that it is working and will continue this way.
Do you have any role models or idols? Roger Waters.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? For me, in the old days, lol
What have been your biggest obstacles? The family, money, and live in a fucking hole where you have nothing.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? If you really love it, then do it, do not care about the world, the difficulties, the money, do what you love.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Wow, show is the best thing, I get really crazy, it's like parachute jumping.
Do you have any new material? yes, let's record the second album in a few months.
What are your web sites? https://dirtygrave.bandcamp.com/
How can people reach? By the band's email, [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? For now only recording the second album.
Do you have something to add? I would like to thank you for the opportunity to talk about music with you, I am very grateful for this support, I wish all the best for you.

Kommentera här: