interview with NiViD

Have any of you played in other bands? Nihar and Dev used to play in a band Space Behind the Yellow Room whereas Aditya performed with Pinocchio’s Moment of Clarity. They first met while at tour in the city of Pune and then Bangalore and ended up working together.

How is it that you started playing music? 

First I was sent to a music teacher who would have all sort of Indian organs (Harmoniums) lying around. This is when I was 5 or 6 and it opened and trained my ear I believe. They also would train us with vocals. Later I would find myself with a shitty Casio keyboard just figuring out notes and playing anything on the stereo right off the bat by the ear. Playing the guitar came out of necessity where we couldn’t afford a big keyboard which was my entry ticket to being on stage in my shitty status infested city. That’s when I picked up my fathers old acoustic guitar and went on to figuring my way around it eventually buying my first guitar which was still cheaper than a keyboard.

At a very young age my mother heard me humming tunes of music from Hindi films. She realised i had an ear for music and put me into hindustani classical singing classes. I stopped after a year cause i was afraid of exams but i started playing and learning instruments myself without much formal training. 

Started playing Hindustani classical when I was 10, then started playing rock guitar at 13.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

I am Aditya. I was born in the 90’s

Bass and Synth

I'm 25

Have you had other previous members? Our first drummer disappeared (I guess he was suicidal), Our second drummer broke his knee because of the nature of music.

Did you make music even when you were young?

You mean when I was a little kid? Yes the first track I wrote was a shitty ballad and songs about my dead motorcycle.

No chance! I just covered songs i enjoyed listening to.

I've been making music since I was 13.

Where are you from?

Semi- Rural Northern India town Ludhiana. Now I live in Gurgaon

Delhi

Bareilly

What year did the band form? Three- Five months ago.

What's your style of genre?

Quite Alternative, Quite Industrial, Quite Indian, nothing specific. I guess you could say we make Rock Music.

Multi genre. ambient, heavy, epic.

What inspires you? Stupid shitty human behaviour

How often and where do you rehearse?12 hours a week at this Sound Pad called Sound Station.

How have you developed since you started with the music?

The music was written by me a while ago and then I started work on assembling the band. The band is now sounding really big and visceral and I am really happy about it.

Every band ive played with has always helped me up my skills as a musician and a performer. I honestly cant even call myself a guitarist         considering how little i practice my craft. Playing with Nivid has really helped me learn to be able to multi task on stage!

it's helped me discover myself and release my emotions.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Video Games and Sound Design

Yes. I am a professional Graphic Designer and Illustrator. I enjoy cooking once in a while. 

I'm a visual artist and I doodle quite often.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? We are looking to work with a booking agency for Europe and USA so that we can spread the spirit of anti propaganda content around the world.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We work as an outbranch of Barren Sound right now which is our parent company. We would like to explore the possibility of working with a label.

What made you decide to make this music? The terrible state of society around me.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?

I personally write the music and the composition and then we try to present it out to the world with a live band

Im just a Bass player.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Depends..

Have you done any covers live? We have a bunch of influences and we don’t know yet what or if we will cover.

What language do you sing in? Hindi

Where do you plan to gig the coming year? We are planning a tour across India and we will be looking for international dates.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We are making some Tee Shirts and have a signature perfume under the Agent 2344 product name.

Where can people buy your merchandise? Write in to us…

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

We know Vinyl is seeing a resurgence but downloading/ streaming music is still on the top. We can definitely see some sort of direction coming into the downloading/ streaming market which might benefit what goes out of the industry.

Earlier, it was pretty hard to access music in India that was not mainstream. The only way out of this was to download it off the internet. That’s what you’d do if a tv series of your choice isn’t easily accessible as well. In todays time its become pretty easy to stream music with platforms like Saavn, Spotify and Apple Music. Apple Music in India in doing a lot to help new artists get recognition all thanks to Bobin James!! If one can pay to watch TV, I’m sure they can pay to listen to music. One wouldn’t get away with stealing food. Then why should they get away with consuming music for free. Having said all this, we get very excited when see our work on shitty torrent sites.

What do you think of my work? I like what you are doing man. There are some cool posts on your blog!

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Hopefully this will get through the audiences in Sweden and other places where people are looking you up and they think that this is something interesting to look up.

Do you have any role models or idols? For Nivid? Trent Reznor, David Bowie, Brian Eno, Maynard James Keenan, Marilyn Manson, Robin Finck, Richard Patrick, some of our buds and people we have worked with around in India and elsewhere.

Why do you think that they exist? To inspire and to create

How can people reach? [email protected] or Social Media

What are your plans for the future? Single, Video, Album, Tour in that order

Do you have something to add? Nope. Thank you for doing this!

Kommentera här: