interview with H2Ocean

Have any of you played in other bands? I had a band several years ago. We made an EP and we were playing both ours and cover songs live. Mostly raw thrash.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? My name’s George Katsamakis and I’m the one who formed this project. I play guitar, but I composed both all of the music and the lyrics. Then Makis Makoulas stepped in for recording the vocals, Herc Booze for the bass and George Kapa for drum programming.

Have you had other previous members? This is a new project and there are no fixed members, but there have been chats with some guys and that might change…

Where are you from? Athens, Greece

What year did the project form? Things were going slowly in order to find the right people, but at the same time recordings were taking place. As an idea in 2016.

What's your style of genre? Categories are great for having an average point, but music is subjective. I don’t really know, thrash-groove maybe.

What inspires you? Everything that draws my attention, but mostly nature and where negative emotions and thoughts lead people.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Right now no, but generally having one is really useful especially if a band wants to step it up and cross the borders.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I have a label, Wormholedeath records. Great guys and always there for anything needed. Having a good label makes some things a lot easier and effective.

What are your songs about? Half songs of the record are about nature’s power and how mankind defiles her. The other half is a lot darker and it’s about reaching an emotional pick that leads to self-destructive ways.

Do you compose in a certain environment? Yes, in my room where I have all my stuff. From there every idea I wrote down or recorded in my phone during the day builds up.

What was your first gig like? Lots of stress before I got up on stage, but after the first couple of minutes lots of fun.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?/ Where can people buy your merchandise? For now you can only pre-save the full album, but very soon physical copies are coming out. You’ll be able to buy the cds from worldwide distributors and H2Ocean's facebook page.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Listening to music for me is number one, but supporting by buying records gives both a financial and more importantly a physiological boost. Not much to do about it.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Besides the negatives, it’s given opportunities to listen to music through the internet that you would never hear so that’s the good part.  

What do you think of my work? Nice questions man. They paint a nice portrait.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? More people will learn about H2Ocean and more will listen to.

Do you have any role models or idols? Had when I was younger. Personally, I just want to be a better version of me and not try to mirror someone else. Of course, there are many people I admire.

Why do you think that they exist? To draw power and inspiration from.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? For me that doesn’t matter. If a band makes me feel something it does, I don’t set limitations.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Being new to this and not having the experience to handle everything as I should.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Make the music you feel. The others come next.

Do you have any new material? Not solid material, just lots of tasty riffs.

What are your web sites?

https://www.facebook.com/h2oceanband

https://www.instagram.com/h2ocean_band/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpgMVnDgkCb6qr4OJqKD5xQ

Do you have something to add? Check out the first two lyric videos and pre-save “The Horned Goddess” in the link you’ll find in the video’s description!

Kommentera här: