interview with Shawn Perry

Have any of you played in other bands?

Shawn Perry: ....oh man too many to list but I will give you the greatest hits! Corey and I were in a band called Switchblade Scarlett.. along with our sometimes drummer Jeff, and Steve was in a pretty well-known metal band called curse icon, Carlos has played for several bands as well and Greg who plays drums on the track has played drums his whole life but mostly in church this is the first time he has been in a (band)

What are your names? / Who plays what?

Shawn Perry: vox, main songwriter, Guitar

Corey Linden: Guitar/Harmonies

Steve Albenze: Guitar

Carlos Flores: Bass

Greg Henry:Drums 

Have you had other previous members? Shawn Perry: yeah there is an Alumni section on my web site. I have been blessed with good friends and great players since venturing out as a "Solo" artist-

Where are you from? Shawn Perry: We are all from the greater Cleveland, Ohio area which is on the northern United States and borders Canada via Lake Erie-

What year did you start this project? Shawn Perry: Instated writing for my first solo record in 2014 and dropped my first EP I'm 2016.

What's your style of genre? Shawn Perry: Music for Arenas :) it's a little country a little rock-'n'-roll with some hip hop and 80's pop thrown in.

What inspires you? Shawn Perry: Queen and Van-Halen....also Star Wars.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Shawn Perry: omg yes...I do all of this by myself. Hit me up people.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Shawn Perry: I am currently working with a small label that has major label distribution...which as you can imagine has its pros and its cons.... So I guess I'm always looking for more team members :-)

What are your songs about? Shawn Perry: Life. 

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Shawn Perry: I do all of the lyrics and most of the songwriting, but the folks that I okay with are always more than welcome to bring songs in...and when they do they are always fire-

Do you compose in a certain enviroment? Shawn Perry: no song ideas come to me in the strangest places sometimes.

Have you done any covers live? Shawn Perry: yeah we do all kinds of crazy stuff live including hot for teacher.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Shawn Perry: I have played to 80,000 and like everyone else I have played to like three drunk bikers in a dive bar lol

What ages are most of your concert attendants? Shawn Perry: ... We are blessed to have people of all ages at our shows.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Shawn Perry: we tend to vary our setlist depending on where we are playing...if we are playing Country Music festival we will skew things a little more that direction and if we are playing let's say a big biker rally we will skew things a little more on the hardrock side.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Shawn Perry: we go where the gigs are if you book us we will come ;) 

What was your first gig like? Shawn Perry: my first gig was playing at my church youth group when I was about 13... It was as good as that could be.

What was your latest gig? Shawn Perry: A Gig that was at a drive-in movie theater playing before the Metallica concert live feed.... It was pretty rad

Where have you played live this year? Shawn Perry:well as you can imagine 2020 has been kind of weird...we have only played out live three times this year thanks to the coronavirus situation so other than the aforementioned drive-in theater show... We played at a pretty rough and tumble country bar that has permanently closed since the virus, and we did a show at the Lorain Palace Theater which was also amazing.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Shawn Perry: I started selling merchandise for my bands when I was about 16 years old :-) I'm pretty good at it we have all kinds of crazy stuff t-shirts flasks beer glasses dog tags wristbands we even had custom Chuck Taylors for my last band we get the stuff done!

Where can people buy your merchandise? Shawn Perry: Right now just at live performances or they can contact us through our Facebook page they want something I'll ship it out :-)

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

Shawn Perry: ... Well that's kind of a double-edged sword isn't it it makes getting your music in the hands of the masses a lot easier in some ways and in other ways it makes it completely impossible...I am however still a fan of physical media and I think I'm going to do a Kickstarter to put my last EP and our new full length on vinyl...

I'm still a big fan of holding the artwork and smelling the paper and all of that good stuff that comes along with physical media.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Shawn Perry: well I think it's a lot harder for folks to reach that top echelon even though it's easier to get your music out because of all of the music that's out there I mean if you get some crazy playlist from Spotify for the week what are the odds of getting a truly righteous song in that whole giant playlist....pretty low...I mean back when I was a kid if you walk into any store that sold cassette tapes or CDs which was pretty much anywhere the odds of you buying anything and I mean anything and it is decent to great was pretty high...I mean even in the bargain bin because companies were not going to invest all that time and money into a project that wasn't top shelf...that's not always the case with digital-only media he can put pretty much anything you want on Spotify or Apple music.

What do you think of my work? Shawn Perry: I think it's awesome and I think it's great that you are giving artist a platform to talk about their work very much appreciated!

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Shawn Perry: Well as you can imagine it's all about getting ears to listen and eyeballs to see what you're doing... So any outlet that can help do that is of great benefit to artist these days.

Do you have any role models or idols? Shawn Perry: Prince.... I wake up everyday and put on my velvet hot pants and look at myself in the mirror and say what would Prince do.... And then that's how I spent my day LOL!

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

Shawn Perry: I think people like Freddie Mercury and Prince exist for the same reason that Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny exist... We need mythical creatures to give our lives Joy:) 

And definitely older Acts...there are a few bands from the last 20 years that I enjoy like the darkness and foxy Shazam the struts are pretty much the only band from 2010 on that have done anything for me-

What have been your biggest obstacles? Shawn Perry: Access to the Machine

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Shawn Perry: get good-paying day jobs because this is going to be expensive.

Do you have any new material? Shawn Perry: Yes I just dropped my new single "Six Feet Apart" you can find it everywhere!

What are your web sites? Http://www.shawnperry.country

Do you have something to add? Shawn Perry: ... Yes we are filming a music video for 6 feet apart that we are hoping to have out sometime in October and we will be dropping a new full-length record entitled Throwin' Shade in early 2021

Kommentera här: