intervju med Idorhan Shagaraa

Where are you from? I was born and raised in Stockholm, Sweden.

What year did the band form? I started my solo project in 2013.

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, I played in a few other bands before I decided to start my solo project.

Have you had other previous members? Well not members, but I've had friends helping me when I've performed live.

What's your style of genre? Hard to say exactly, as I tend to experiment quite a lot. But if I have to be specific, I'd say a mixture between gothic and progressive metal.

What inspires you? I get inspired by pretty much everything. There's always something to anything.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Not at the moment. But It'd be good to find a decent one in the future.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Again, not right now. Right now my main focus is to keep writing and recording. But if I could find a good label in the future it'd be great.

What are your songs about? Anything really. Philosophy, life and what ever there is to it.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I have done all the composing myself and written all lyrics.

Do you compose in a certain enviroment? Mostly at home I suppose, since that is where I have all my instruments. But other than that, I can start working on a song pretty much anywhere at anytime.

Have you done any covers live? Yes, I once did a cover of Pearl Jam and Nirvana with a couple of good friends of mine.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Well I have not held any performances that big as of yet. The smallest audience were about 20 or maybe 30 people, as the largest were closer to 40 I believe.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? I've seen people of all ages come listen to me play really.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I have varied quite a lot over the years, as it has been both covers and some of my own material.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No, not at the current time.

What was your first gig like? Well first thing that comes to mind is that I was nervous beyond belief, even though it was before a pretty small crowd. But it went suprisingly well. And we recieved such positive feedback afterwards which made very happy.

What was your latest gig? A good friend of mine, who is also a musician, arranged a bit of an open stage a while back. There several artists, including her and myself, could perform for a minor audience.

Where have you played live this year? Sadly I've not performed live at all during this year. But I'm hoping that will change real soon.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I have not started selling any merchandise yet.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Well it's certainly not a big suprise as times, technology and media overall constantly change and evolve. It's not necessarily a bad thing, but it does of course make things a whole lot different for everyone. As I can't really say that the concept of buying records has completly gone away, which I'd say is a good thing, it is understandable that people today are looking for a much faster and easier way to access music.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? From a musicians perspective, it means that we have to constantly adapt and evolve as well. We always have to look for new means to be heard and what currently is the most effective way we can expand.

What do you think of my work? From what I've seen, I think that what you do is both great and interesting. Aside from giving other bands and musicians a chance to grow and get some spotlight, it is always good to get other peoples unique perspective on things overall.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Well it will definetly help in the way that anyone who read about this interview will get a better understanding of me and the work I do.

Do you have any role models or idols? Yes well even though I get inspired by a lot of people and bands, the ones that I who look up to the most must be Rush and Tool. I consider them masters when it comes to progressive rock and metal.

Why do you think that they exist? How else would we evolve? After all, that is what artists do. They inspire each other.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? That does depend quite a lot on which style and genre you'd be going for. But as for myself, I'd say there's something special to every band. Old as well as new.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Well I think the biggest obstacle for me has without a doubt been how I've done almost everything by myself. And at the same time trying to make it work with my everyday life and make a living.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? The best and most important advice I can give is that you always make sure to focus on the kind of music that you'd want to hear yourself. You can get inspired by other musicians, you can recieve feedback and points of view from people around you. But your music has to come from you in the end.

Do you have any new material? Yes but not quite ready yet. I'll keep working and hope to have it released soon!

What are your web sites? All information that is available right now can be found on my Facebook page.

Do you have something to add? Yes. I'd like to say thank you for a very pleasant interview and I wish you and your blog the best.

Kommentera här: